Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Duke Honors Student-Athletes At Annual Menís Basketball Banquet
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/18/2008
article image
DeMarcus Nelson received the 2007-08 Swett-Baylin Award as MVP
Photo Courtesy: Max Turner
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. Ė Senior DeMarcus Nelson received the Swett-Baylin Award for Most Valuable Player to headline the list of honors handed out at the Annual Duke Men’s Basketball banquet on Friday night at Cameron Indoor Stadium.

Nelson, a third team All-America selection by the NABC and Basketball Times, also received the Iron Dukes Award for most minutes played (1,051), the Bill Krzyzewski Captains’ Award, the Best Field Goal Percentage Award (.490) and the Best Defensive Player Award. Nelson closed his Blue Devil career with 109 victories, including 58 at Cameron Indoor Stadium. He is also one of just six Duke players to record over 1,300 points, 600 rebounds, 200 assists and 125 steals in a career.

Junior Greg Paulus, who became the 10th Academic All-America in Duke basketball history, received the Dr. Deryl Hart Award as the top scholar-athlete. The third team All-ACC selection also received the Most Assists Award after recording 109 assists on the season.

The Glenn E. “Ted” Mann, Jr., Award, which is given to a reserve who contributes the most to team morale, was delivered to sophomore Jon Scheyer. He was also the recipient of the Best Free Throw Percentage Award after shooting .889 (120-of-135) from the line, the fifth-best single season free throw percentage in school history.  

Sophomore Gerald Henderson received the Coach’s Award for the player exemplifying the commitment and values of Duke basketball while freshman Kyle Singler earned the Best Rebounding Average Award after recording 5.8 rebounds per game.

Three other awards were handed out Friday night. Chris Lauten received the Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award, Cameron Williams was given the Harry Rainey Spirit Award and Jessie Eisenmenger was the recipient of the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award. 

2007-08 Duke Men's Basketball Award Winners
Swett-Baylin Award (Most Valuable Player): DeMarcus Nelson
Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Greg Paulus
Glenn E. "Ted" Mann, Jr., Award (Reserve Contributing Most to Team Morale): Jon Scheyer
Coach's Award (Player Exemplifying the Commitment and Values of Duke Basketball): Gerald Henderson
Iron Dukes Award (Most Minutes Played): DeMarcus Nelson
Bill Krzyzewski Captains' Awards: DeMarcus Nelson
Best Field Goal Percentage Award: DeMarcus Nelson
Best Rebounding Average Award: Kyle Singler
Best Free Throw Percentage Award: Jon Scheyer
Most Assists Award: Greg Paulus
Best Defensive Player Award: DeMarcus Nelson
Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award: Chris Lauten
Harry Rainey Spirit Award: Cameron Williams 
Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award: Jessie Eisenmenger