Uploaded Ad
Morgan Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/29/2010
article image
Bryan Morgan
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Duke senior center Bryan Morgan has been named to the 2010 Rimington Trophy Watch List. 

Morgan, a 6-3, 260-pound native of Hoover, Ala., enters his final season at Duke having played in 33 games with 24 consecutive starting assignments at center.  A veteran of 2,017 snaps over the past three seasons, Morgan guided the 2009 Blue Devil offensive line unit that ranked third in the ACC in sacks allowed per pass attempt and helped Duke lead the league and rank ninth nationally in passing offense.

The Dave Rimington Trophy, named after Nebraska's two-time consensus All-America center, is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in college football.  Rimington, the only player to earn two John Outland trophies, is widely considered to have been one of the best centers in the history of college football.  The Trophy is sponsored by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which that former NFL quarterback created in 1993 to support research and treatment of cystic fibrosis -- a deadly genetic disease afflicting his son, Gunnar.

Morgan is joined on the Watch List by Chris Anzevino (Kent State), Tim Barnes (Missouri), Ryan Bartholemew (Syracuse), Colin Baxter (Arizona), Sean Bedford (Georgia Tech), Chase Beeler (Stanford), Mario Benavides (Louisville), Joe Bernardi (Fresno State), Ben Bojicic (Bowling Green), Mike Brewster (Ohio State), J.C. Brignone (Mississippi State), Ben Burkett (Northwestern), Mike Caputo (Nebraska), Dalton Freeman (Clemson), John Gianninoto (UNLV), Jeremiah Hatch (Kansas), Jordan Holmes (Oregon), Trask Iosefa (San Diego State), Ben Jones (Georgia), Jake Kirkpatrick (TCU), Alex Linnenkohl (Oregon State), Kai Maiava (UCLA), Ryan McMahon (Florida State), Colin Miller (Central Michigan), David Molk (Michigan), Russell Nenon (Wake Forest), Kristofer O’Dowd (USC), Brad Paul (Memphis), Moe Petrus (Connecticut), Mike Pouncey (Florida), Lon Roberts (Louisiana Tech), Brad Serini (Florida International), Keenan Stevens (Colorado), William Vlachos (Alabama), Beau Warren (Virginia Tech) and Wade Weibert (Kansas State).

Duke opens the 2010 season at home against Elon on September 5 at 7 p.m.  Season tickets are available and may be purchased online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 1-877-375-DUKE (3853).