• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Watch X Live Rollup
Snyderwine Named To Groza Award Watch List
Sunday 07/07/2011  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Courtesy: Brian Schneider
View larger
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Duke redshirt senior kicker Will Snyderwine has been named to the 30-member Lou Groza Award Watch List.  The Groza Award is presented annually by the Palm Beach County Sports Commission to the top placekicker in the nation.

A two-time semifinalist for the award, enters his final season having made 38-of-44 (.864) field goals and all 56 of his PAT attempts.  Among active players nationally, he ranks first in career field goals made per game (1.65) and third in career field goal percentage.  

Last year, the Potomac, Md., native was a first team All-America selection by the American Football Coaches Association after booting a school single-season record 21 field goals and totaling 95 points - the second-highest single-season total in Duke history.

Snyderwine is joined on the list by Michael Barbour (East Carolina), Casey Barth (North Carolina), Rob Beard (Oregon), Maikon Bonani (South Florida), Randy Bullock (Texas A&M), Dan Conroy (Michigan State), Derek Dimke (Illinois),  Ross Evans (TCU), Mitch Ewald (Indiana), Trey Farquhar (Idaho), Erik Folk (Washington), Nate Freese (Boston College), Kevin Goessling (Fresno State), Jack Griffin (Florida International), Zach Hocker (Arkansas), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), Danny Hrapmann (Southern Miss), Aaron Jones (Baylor), Ross Krautman (Syracuse), Abel Perez (San Diego State), Grant Ressel (Missouri), Bryson Rose (Ole Miss), David Ruffer (Notre Dame), Jimmy Stevens (Oklahoma), Dave Teggart (Connecticut), Justin Tucker (Texas),  Blair Walsh (Georgia), Phillip Welch (Wisconsin) and Alex Zendejas (Arizona).

Past winners of the Lou Groza Award include Joe Allison (Memphis State; 1992), Judd Davis (Florida; 1993), Steve McLaughlin (Arizona; 1994), Michael Reeder (TCU; 1995), Marc Primanti (N.C. State; 1996), Martin Gramatica (Kansas State; 1997), Sebastian Janikowski (Florida State; 1998 & 1999), Jonathan Ruffin (Cincinnati; 2000), Seth Marler (Tulane; 2001), Nate Kaeding (Iowa; 2002), Jonathan Nichols (Ole Miss; 2003), Mike Nugent (Ohio State; 2004), Alexis Serna (Oregon State; 2005), Arthur Carmody (Louisville; 2006), Thomas Weber (Arizona State; 2007), Graham Gano (Florida State; 2008), Kai Forbarth (UCLA; 2009) and Dan Bailey (Oklahoma State, 2010).

The award is named for NFL Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns. Groza won four NFL championships and was named the NFL Player of the Year in 1954. Although an all-pro offensive lineman, Groza ushered in the notion that there should be a place on an NFL roster for a kicker.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, please go to www.lougrozaaward.com.

Duke opens the 2011 season at home versus Richmond on September 3 at 7 p.m.  Season tickets are available and may be purchased online at GoDuke.com or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 1-877-375-DUKE (3853).

DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Football

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Duke Spirit Jerseys - $49.95
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon