Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Six Rowers Named CRCA Scholar Athletes; Theys Earned Top Honor
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/22/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. --- Duke rowers Tori Arendt, Sarah Baker, Katie Burke, Rory Erickson-Kulas, Elizabeth Howell and Emily Theys were named Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association Scholar Athletes for the 2011-12 season, as announced by the CRCA on Tuesday.

To be eligible for consideration, all rowers must meet the requirements of being in their second, third or fourth year of eligibility, maintain a grade point average of at least 3.5 while also competing in at least 75 percent of the team's spring season.

This is the third selection for seniors Arendt and Erickson-Kulas. Arendt was a fixture of Duke's second varsity eight this season, helping the team take second at the grand finals of the Knecht Cup as well as a fourth-place finish at the ACC Championships.

Erickson-Kulas, a public policy major, has helped power Duke's varsity eight over the season, guiding the Blue Devils to top finishes at the San Diego Crew Classic, the Triple Dual and even in the grand finals of the Knecht Cup. The senior was also a recipient of the postgraduate scholarship given by the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC).

Theys, a sociology major, spent her sophomore season as a starting member of Duke's varsity eight and helped the team to a third-place finish at the 2012 ACC Championships where she was named All-ACC.

Burke, a junior psychology major, rowed with the varsity eight throughout the season, as she helped the crew take gold in the Knecht Cup, posting the top time of the season of 6:25.68 to edge Bucknell by 1.29 seconds.

Baker, who was named Academic All-ACC last season, powered the second varsity eight to a third-place finish in the Oak Ridge Invite. Howell, a neuroscience major, took top honors this season as she helped Duke's varsity quad take second in the ACC Championships to push past ACC front-runner Virginia, marking the first time in championship history that Duke has beaten Virginia.

In all, 25 rowers from the ACC were named to the 2012 CRCA Scholar Athlete List, with Clemson taking the most with eight, Boston College and Duke both with six apiece. Miami and Virginia both had two selections and North Carolina with one.

Also announced on Tuesday were the 2011 Div. I all-region award winners. Selected to the All-South Region First Team was sophomore Emily Theys, who was named to the All-South Region First Team.

These awards recognize the outstanding performance of rowers and coxswains from each of the five regions. Nominated student-athletes are evaluated on the strength of their team's regional finish. These athletes will be eligible for All-America award selections following the NCAA Rowing Championships.

Theys, who was also tabbed All-South Region Second Team last season, was among only 24 rowers to be selected to the U23 National Team Camp this summer.