Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Shane Lardinois
Natasha Anasi
Anasi Named Semifinalist for the Hermann Trophy
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/28/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.-  Duke University junior Natasha Anasi has been named one of 15 semifinalists for the Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy on Wednesday.  Anasi was selected a semifinalist for the prestigious award for the second straight year.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual award in intercollegiate soccer. It is presented annually in January during a banquet at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

NCAA Division I coaches who are NSCAA members may vote for their top choices starting Wednesday, Nov. 28 to Wednesday, Dec. 5. New this year is a fan voting component, conducted through LockerDome, which allows fans to also contribute to picking this year's MAC Hermann Trophy winners.

The semifinalists along with Anasi include UCLA's Zakiya Bywaters, North Carolina's Crystal Dunn and Kealia Ohai, Florida State's Ines Jaurena, BYU's Lindsi Lisonbee Cutshall, Boston College's Kristen Mewis, Virginia's Carolina Miller, Florida's Erika Tymrak, Georgetown's Daphne Corboz, Stanford's Alina Garciamendez and Rachel Quon, Julie Johnson (Santa Clara) and Penn State's Maya Hayes and Christine Nairn.

Anasi, who is a produce of Arlington, Texas, started all 23 games for the Blue Devils at the center back position.  She was a second team All-ACC selection in 2012 as she helped lead Duke to its second straight NCAA Elite Eight appearance along with a 15-6-2 record.  Anasi registered two assists on the season and guided the Blue Devils to six shutouts on the year.  She logged a team-high 2,017 minutes.

The top three vote-getters will be announced Thursday, Dec. 6. The winner will be announced during the MAC Hermann Trophy banquet in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, 2013.