Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Sean Renfree
Renfree Chosen as Jim Tatum Award Recipient
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/29/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Duke redshirt senior quarterback Sean Renfree has been named the recipient of the 2012 Jim Tatum Award, ACC Commissioner John Swofford announced on Thursday.

The Tatum Award is given annually in memory of the late Jim Tatum to the top senior student-athlete among the league's football players. Tatum, a two-time ACC Coach of the Year, coached in the 1950s at both Maryland and North Carolina and believed strongly in the concept of the student-athlete.

The award will be presented at the ACC's Night of Legends event which will be held Friday at the Charlotte Convention Center as part of the festivities held around the Dr Pepper ACC Football Championship Game.

A three-year starter and two-year team captain, Renfree has led Duke to a 6-6 record this season and bowl eligibility for the first time since 1994. The Scottsdale, Ariz., native also has received recognition for his off-field accomplishments this season by being named a National Football Foundation Scholar-Athlete and the recipient of the Pop Warner National College Football Award.  In addition, he was named to the AFCA's Good Works Team and is a finalist for the Senior CLASS Award.

Renfree graduated from Duke in December of 2011 with a degree in public policy with a 3.4 grade point average and is now working on a graduate degree in humanities with a 3.8 GPA. He was named to the All-ACC Academic Team in 2010 and 2011.

"What Sean Renfree has accomplished in his time at Duke University - athletically, academically and in our community - is simply incredible," said  Duke head coach David Cutcliffe.  "He comes from an outstanding family that taught him the strongest of core values, and, as I've said before, there are not enough Sean Renfrees in our world today.  As a two-year team captain, his commitment to excellence has elevated our team and our program, and we could not be more proud of him in receiving the prestigious Jim Tatum Award."

One of the most accurate passers in the history of the ACC, Renfree ranks third in the league a with a .663 completion percentage (260 of 392) this season.  That mark is on pace to set a school record, potentially breaking his own standard of .650 set in 2011. He holds or shares 14 school records and is tops on Duke's career completion percentage list as well, posting a mark of .643. He also ranks among Duke's all-time top five in pass completions (2nd; 861), passing touchdowns (5th; 50), passing efficiency (2nd; 127.89), passing yards (4th; 9,107) and 300-yard passing games (tied for 2nd; 10).

On the ACC's all-time charts, Renfree ranks fourth in pass completions, sixth in pass completion percentage, tied for seventh in 300-yard passing games and 9th in passing yardage.

He becomes the fourth Blue Devil to be honored with the Tatum Award joining Scott Hamilton (1979), Chris Douglas (2003) and Brendan Dewan (2005).

He was selected from a pool of outstanding nominees for the Tatum Award that included Boston College offensive tackle Emmett Cleary (Arlington Heights, Ill.), Clemson center Dalton Freeman, Florida State (Pelion, S.C.) placekicker Dustin Hopkins Houston, Texas), Maryland defensive end A.J. FrancisSevern, Md.), Miami cornerback Brandon McGee (Plantation, Fla.), North Carolina offensive guard Jonathan Cooper (Wilmington, N.C.), NC State quarterback Mike Glennon (Centreville, Va.), Virginia Tech tight end George George (Salem, Va.) and Wake Forest linebacker Riley Haynes (Ponta Vedra Beach, Fla.)

Previous Winners of the Jim Tatum Award
1979 -- Scott Hamilton, Duke, G
1980-81 -- No Award
1982 -- Pat Chester, Virginia, S & Phil Denfield, Wake Forest, TE
1983-84-- Not Available
1985 -- Kevin Anthony, North Carolina, QB
1986 -- David Cardenas, Virginia, DB
1987-89 -- Not Available
1990 -- Charlie Cobb, NC State, C
1991 -- Steve Ainsworth, Wake Forest, OL
1992 -- Not Available
1993 -- Thomas Burns, Virginia, LB
1994 -- Ed Glenn, Clemson, TE
1995 -- Russell Babb, North Carolina, OT
1996 -- Daryl Bush, Florida State, DB
1997 -- Stephen Phelan, Virginia, D & Jonathan Claiborne, Maryland, S
1998 -- Ebenezer Ekuban, North Carolina, DE
1999 -- Noel LaMontagne, Virginia, G
2000 -- Louis Marchetti, North Carolina, OT
2001 -- Kyle Young, Clemson, C
2002 -- Jeremy Muyres, Georgia Tech, DB
2003 -- Chris Douglas, Duke, RB
2004 -- Nick Novak, Maryland, PK
2005 -- Brendan Dewan, Duke, LB & David Castillo, Florida State, C
2006 -- Josh Wilson, Maryland, DB
2007 -- Tom Santi, Virginia, TE
2008 -- Darryl Richard, Georgia Tech, DT
2009 -- Riley Skinner, Wake Forest, QB
2010 -- Christian Ponder, Florida State, QB
2011 -- Danny Coale, Virginia Tech, WR-P
2012 -- Sean Renfree, Duke, QB

Baseball vs. Wake Forest Audio
Fri, Mar 22 at 3:40 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Miami Live Video
Fri, Mar 22 at 4:45 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Miami Live Video
Fri, Mar 22 at 4:45 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Miami Live Video
Fri, Mar 22 at 4:45 PM