Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Plumlee Named to Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/31/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.- Senior Mason Plumlee was named as one of 12 players on the Oscar Robertson Trophy National Player of the Year Midseason Watch List as announced by the USBWA on Thursday. Plumlee is coming of a career-high 32-point effort on Wednesday night in Duke's 75-70 road win over Wake Forest.

On the year, Plumlee is averaging 18.1 points and a league-high 11.1 rebounds per game, while shooting 59.6 percent from the floor. He is one of 16 players nationally averaging a double-double and currently is tied for fourth in the NCAA in rebounding. Plumlee is currently 52 rebounds shy of becoming the eighth player in Duke history and the 31st player in ACC history to record 1,000 points and 1,000 rebounds in a career.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is to be presented to the national player of the year by its namesake at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards on April 15 at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. The Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award and the Integris Wayman Tisdale Freshman of the Year Award will also be presented at the gala to be held annually the Monday following the NCAA Men's Final Four.

Teammates from Indiana and Kansas headline the watch list that includes four Big Ten players. Indiana's Victor Oladipo and Cody Zeller are joined by fellow Big Ten standouts Trey Burke of Michigan and Deshaun Thomas of Ohio State. The pair of Jayhawks named to the list are Ben McLemore and Jeff Withey. Big East standouts Michael Carter-Williams of Syracuse and Russ Smith of Louisville join ACC star Mason Plumlee of Duke as players who were also recognized.

A pair of Oscar Robertson National Players of the Week from this season are featured as well: Doug McDermott from Creighton and Burke. Also, two natives of Canada, UNLV's Anthony Bennett and Gonzaga's Kelly Olynyk, were selected. Overall, the list is balanced by class with two seniors, five juniors, three sophomores and two freshmen appearing.

Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List
Anthony Bennett, UNLV
Trey Burke, Michigan
Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Ben McLemore, Kansas
Victor Oladipo, Indiana
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Russ Smith, Louisville
Deshaun Thomas, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, Kansas
Cody Zeller, Indiana