Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Bill Kallenberg
Henrique Cunha and Raphael Hemmeler
Cunha, Hemmeler Named ITA Doubles Team of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/10/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke’s Henrique Cunha and Raphael Hemmeler have been selected as the 2013 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) National Doubles Team of the Year, as announced by the organization Wednesday. Cunha and Hemmeler become the second Blue Devil pair to win the award in the past four years, as Cunha and Reid Carleton were selected at the conclusion of the 2010 campaign.

The dynamic duo of Cunha and Hemmeler earned 39 victories throughout the season, which ranks the duo second all-time in program history for most wins by a doubles tandem. The pair completed the season as the top-ranked tandem and advanced to the semifinals of the NCAA doubles championship in their first season playing together.

Throughout the dual season, Cunha and Hemmeler tallied a 24-4 record from the No. 1 position and an undefeated 9-0 mark in Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) competition. Against ranked competition, Cunha and Hemmeler were 24-3, including 11 victories against opponents ranked in the top-20.

Cunha and Hemmeler enjoyed a tremendous amount of success in the fall, as the duo played to a 12-1 ledger. The pair was able to capture three doubles titles throughout the fall campaign, including the blue draw at the Duke Fab Four Invite, the ITA Carolina Regional and the USTA/ITA National Indoor Championship. The title at the USTA/ITA National Indoors Championship was the second in Duke men’s tennis history, as Ludovic Walter and Jason Zimmerman won the doubles draw in 2003

Cunha wins the award for the second time in his illustrious career and leaves Duke as the record holder in singles (151) and doubles (147) victories. He is just the fourth player in program history to win 100 matches in singles and doubles.

ITA National Doubles Teams of the Year:     

2013       Henrique Cunha/Raphael Hemmeler, Duke
2012       Chase Buchanan/Blaz Rola, Ohio State
2011       John-Patrick Smith/Boris Conkic, Tennessee
2010       Reid Carleton/Henrique Cunha, Duke
2009       Davey Sandgren/John-Patrick Smith, Tennessee
2008       Robert Farah/Kaes Van't Hof, USC
2007       Luis Flores/John Isner, Georgia
2006       Kevin Anderson/Ryan Rowe, Illinois
2005       John Isner/Antonio Ruiz, Georgia
2004       Richard Barker/William Barker, Rice
2003       Richard Barker/William Barker, Rice
2002       Andrew Colombo/Marc Kovacs, Auburn
2001       Matias Boeker/Travis Parrott, Georgia
2000       Geoff Abrams/Alex Kim, Stanford


Baseball vs. Clemson Audio Broadcast
Fri, Apr 19 at 5:40 PM
Baseball vs. Clemson Audio Broadcast
Sat, Apr 20 at 2:40 PM
Baseball vs. Clemson Audio Broadcast
Sun, Apr 21 at 12:40 PM
Duke Baseball Show | Season 6
Mon, Apr 22 at 11:55 AM