• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Watch X Live Rollup
Dave Harding
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Dave Harding
Harding a Finalist for Wuerffel Trophy
Thursday 11/12/2013  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt senior Dave Harding was selected as a finalist for the Wuerffel Trophy, the All Sports Association, Inc. announced Monday. Harding is one of 12 finalists for the award, which honors the college football player who best combines exemplary community service with outstanding academic and athletic achievement.

Harding, a 6-4, 285-pound offensive guard, is active in a number of community service efforts, and during the summer of 2012 he organized and led a trip for his fellow Duke offensive linemen to Ethiopia where they dug freshwater wells in a remote village. Harding was selected to the AFCA Good Works Team earlier this year for his efforts, which also include outreach at the Ronald McDonald House, Duke Children’s Hospital and INJAZ, a Duke student-run organization that assists Iraqi refugees establish themselves in the Raleigh-Durham area.

Harding has made an equally impressive impact on the Duke football program, starting on Duke’s offensive line for the past three seasons while helping Duke reach the Belk Bowl in 2012 and jump out to a 7-2 record in 2013. He has started 26 consecutive games and this season has blocked for a Blue Devil offense that averages 33.4 points per game while scoring 18 rushing touchdowns and 17 passing touchdowns.

In the classroom, Harding owns a 3.46 grade point average while pursuing a graduate degree in political science. He is a two-time Academic All-District III selection and a three-time All-ACC Academic Team honoree.

The Wuerffel Trophy is named after former Heisman Trophy winner Danny Wuerffel, who led the Florida Gators to the 1996 national championship, played six years in the National Football League and has received national recognition for his humanitarian and community service efforts with Desire Street Ministries in New Orleans and around the country. A committee that includes the Wuerffel Trophy national directors, selection committee members and past winners, will vote on the finalists later this month, and the winner will be announced on December 10.

Joining Harding as finalists are Hayden Tippett (Army), Aaron Murray (Georgia), Will Jackson (Georgia Tech), Nathan Scheelhaase (Illinois), James Morris (Iowa), Jacob Karam (Memphis), Chris Hawthorne (Minnesota), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Ryan Alderman (Temple), Eric Soze (Texas-San Antonio) and Carey Spear (Vanderbilt).

The 2013 Wuerffel Trophy will be presented to the winner at the All Sports Association’s 45th Annual Awards Banquet on Friday, February 7, 2014.


DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Football

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Block Duke Tees - $16
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon