Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Mike Rosenfeld
Rosenfeld Named to Johnny Bench Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/07/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke baseball redshirt junior Mike Rosenfeld has been named to the 2014 Johnny Bench Award watch list as announced by the Great Wichita Area Sports Commission. The prestigious award is given each year to the nation’s top Division I catcher.

A two-year team captain for the Blue Devils, Rosenfeld has appeared in 97 games over the course of his collegiate career, starting 87. The Mamaroneck, N.Y., native boasts a .989 fielding percentage with just eight errors.

Rosenfeld is also a .308 career hitter, totaling 19 doubles, five triples and four home runs during his time with the Blue Devils. Hitting at a .333 clip to start the 2014 campaign, Rosenfeld has also contributed 50 career RBI and 39 runs scored.

The initial watch list will be updated to include other candidates until May 5, 2014. The watch list is then narrowed down to a group of semifinalists, which will be announced May 15. For there, ballots will be sent to a national voting panel to determine the three finalists (announced June 3). A final vote among the national committee will occur during the College World Series. All finalists will be brought to Wichita and the winner will be announced at the 17th Annual Great Wichita Sports Banquet on June 26.

2014 Johnny Bench Award Watch List (72 student-athletes)
Will Allen - SR - University of Mississippi
Blake Austin - SR - Auburn University
Brett Austin - JR - North Carolina State University
Anthony Azar - SR - Sam Houston State University
Tyler Baker - JR - Wichita State University
Caleb Barker - SR - University of Houston
John Bormann - JR - UT San Antonio
Austin Bossart - JR - University of Pennsylvania
Garrett Boulware - JR - Clemson University
John Crummy - SR - Miami University
Jose Cruz - SR - Jackson State University
Jared Deacon - SR - Cal State Fullerton
Blair DeBord - SR - Kansas State University
Dustin Dhanani - JR - Alabama A&M University
Nick Dini - JR - Wagner College
Matt Durst - JR - University of Southern Mississippi
Ka'iana Eldredge - SR - University of Kansas
Alex Farkes - SR - Penn State
Mike Fischer - SR - Columbia University
Aramis Garcia - JR - Florida International University
Mitch Ghelfi - SO - University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Kyle Gibson - SR - University of Louisville
Richard Gonzalez - JR - Alabama State University
Grayson Greiner - JR - University of South Carolina
Aaron Gretz - JR - Ohio State Unversity
Chase Griffin - JR - Georgia Southern University
Taylor Gushue - JR - University of Florida
Sean Hagen - SR - Eastern Kentucky University
Chris Harvey - JR - Vanderbilt University
Ryan Hissey - SO - The College of William & Mary
Nate Irving - JR - University of Virginia
Connor Joe - JR - University of San Diego
TJ Losby - SR - Bowling Green State University
Tanner Lubach - JR - University of Nebraska
Adam Martin - SR - Western Carolina University
Cole Martin - SR - University of Michigan
Kevin Martir - SO - University of Maryland
Ryan Matranga - SO - University of San Francisco
Greg McCall - SR - University of Texas-Arlington
Max McDowell - SO - University of Connecticut
Ryan Messex - JR - Western Kentucky University
Levi Meyer - SR - Florida Atlantic University
Taylor Noyer - SR - New Mexico State University
Brian O'Keefe - JR - Saint Joesph's University
Brian Olson - JR - Seattle University
Joseph Olson - SO - Stephen F. Austin University
Tyler Pearson - SR - Texas State University
Max Pentecost - JR - Kennesaw State University
Taylor Peterson - SR - University of North Dakota
Jordan Procyshen - JR - Northern Kentucky University
Pat Quinn - SR - University of Rhode Island
Alex Real - JR - University of New Mexico
Josh Reavis - SR - Radford University
Matt Reed - FR - Marshall University
Jamie Ritchie - JR - Belmont University
Daniel Rizzie - SO - Xavier University
Joey Roach - SO - Georgia State University
Mike Rosenfeld - JR - Duke University
Kyle Schwarber - JR - Indiana University
Adam Sonabend - SR - Eastern Michigan University
Josh Spano - JR - High Point University
Garrett Stubbs - JR - University of Southern California
Brett Sunde - SO - Western Michigan University
Wayne Taylor - JR - Stanford University
Travis Watkins - SO - East Carolina University
Luke Weber - SR - USC Upstate
Carter White - JR - University of Memphis
Mike Wieland - SR - University of Arkansas Pine Bluff
Samm Wiggins - JR - Houston Baptist University
Matt Winn - JR - Virginia Military Institute
Mark Zagunis - JR - Virginia Tech
Shane Zeile - JR - University of California, Los Angeles