Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Brendan Maloney
Nick McCrory
McCrory Named ACC S&D Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/09/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke University senior Nick McCrory has been selected the 2014 ACC Men’s Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year and five other Blue Devils also received All-ACC Academic Team recognition, as announced Wednesday, Apr. 9 by Commissioner John Swofford.

McCrory claimed his fourth NCAA title in platform diving at last month’s NCAA Championship, engineering a thrilling comeback in the event final to become the first athlete to win four national championships in that discipline. He also earned a third-place finish in the one-meter springboard diving competition at the NCAA meet in Austin, Texas. McCrory concluded his collegiate career an 11-time All-American and with a record 10 gold medals in ACC Championship competition. The religion major from Chapel Hill, N.C., is a three-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team.

Senior Hunter Knight joined McCrory on the All-ACC Academic Men’s Swimming and Diving Team after representing Duke in the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke at the NCAA Championship. An All-ACC performer in the breaststroke events during his career, Knight has also previously garnered ACC Academic Honor Roll and CSCAA Scholar All-America Honorable Mention accolades.

Senior Christine Wixted was named to the All-ACC Academic Women’s Swimming and Diving Team for the third time in her career to lead a quartet of Blue Devils on the list. A sociology major from Greenwood Village, Colo., Wixted closed her collegiate career by collecting honorable mention All-America honors in the 200 breaststroke with a 16th-place finish at the NCAA Championship.

Sophomore Kathryn Eckhart and freshmen Maddie Rusch and Jessie Sutherland also received All-ACC Academic Team recognition, with each earning the accolade for the first time in their respective careers. All three Blue Devils competed in relay events at the NCAA Championship, with Eckhart and Rusch joining Wixted in helping Duke eclipse the program record in the 200 freestyle relay. Sutherland led off the team’s 200 medley relay which earned automatic qualification to NCAAs with a swim of 1:37.91 at the 2014 ACC Championship.

The Duke men’s and women’s swimming and diving programs have placed a combined 48 student-athletes on the All-ACC Academic Teams since the award’s inception in 2007.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2014 All-ACC Academic Swimming & Diving Teams - Duke Selections

Name Year Major
Kathryn Eckhart So. Public Policy
Hunter Knight Sr. Psychology
Nick McCrory # Sr. Religion
Maddie Rusch Fr. Undeclared
Jessie Sutherland Fr. Undeclared
Christine Wixted # Sr. Sociology


@ Two-time honoree
# Three-time honoree
% Four-time honoree