Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Kelby Brown & Jeremy Cash
Brown & Cash Named to Nagurski Trophy Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/10/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt senior linebacker Kelby Brown and redshirt junior safety Jeremy Cash were named to the Bronko Nagurski Trophy preseason watch list as two candidates for the nation’s top defensive player award.

Brown and Cash ranked second and fourth in the ACC in tackles per game in 2013 and each topped the 100-tackle plateau. Brown ranked second in the league with 8.8 tackles per game while Cash ranked fourth with 8.6 stops per contest. The duo played a key role in helping Duke force 28 turnovers, combining for six interceptions, four fumble recoveries and four forced fumbles.

Brown was an All-ACC first team selection by the league’s media and second team pick by the coaches. Just one year removed from his second major knee surgery – which forced him to miss the entire 2012 season – Brown went on to earn ACC Player of the Week honors in three consecutive weeks as well as the Walter Camp Foundation National Player of the Week following Duke’s milestone 13-10 win at No. 16 Virginia Tech. On the season, Brown totaled double-digit tackles in four games, including 14 stops in the win over the Hokies.

Cash earned All-America second team honors from USA Today in 2013 after totaling the second-most tackles in the ACC with 121, 9.5 of which went for a loss. In his first season on the field for the Blue Devils after transferring to Duke from Ohio State after the 2012 season, he had 12 or more tackles in five games and added three interceptions and four pass breakups. Cash enters his redshirt junior season as a preseason All-ACC pick by four major outlets and was ranked as the No. 7 safety in the nation by Lindy’s Sports.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2014 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects the 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in America.

The FWAA has named a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame. Pittsburgh tackle Aaron Donald won the award last season.

2014 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List
Henry Anderson, Stanford, DE
Stephone Anthony, Clemson, LB
Vic Beasley, Clemson, DE
Michael Bennett, Ohio State, DT
Craig Bills, BYU, DB
Joey Bosa, Ohio State, DE
Kelby Brown, Duke, LB
Malcom Brown, Texas, DT
Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State, DE
Alex Carter, Stanford, DB
Sam Carter, TCU, DB
Jeremy Cash, Duke, DB
Frank Clark, Michigan, DE
Landon Collins, Alabama, DB
Blake Countess, Michigan, DB
Christian Covington, Rice, DT
Su'a Cravens, USC, DB
Carl Davis, Iowa, DT
Tyeler Davison, Fresno State, DE
Trey DePriest, Alabama, LB
Quandre Diggs, Texas, DB
Lorenzo Doss, Tulane, DB
Kurtis Drummond, Michigan State, DB
Alvin Dupree, Kentucky, DE
Mario Edwards Jr., Florida State, DE
Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon, DB
Kyler Fackrell, Utah State, LB
Devonte Fields, TCU, DE
Trey Flowers, Arkansas, DE
Leonard Floyd, Georgia, LB
Dante Fowler Jr., Florida, DE
Alani Fua, BYU, LB
Kendall Fuller, Virginia Tech, DB
Markus Golden, Missouri, DE
Randy Gregory, Nebraska, DE
Bryce Hager, Baylor, LB
Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida, DB
Anthony Harris, Virginia, DB
Ben Heeney, Kansas, LB
Chucky Hunter, TCU, DT
Martin Ifedi, Memphis, DE
Myles Jack, UCLA, LB
Grady Jarrett, Clemson, DT
Jordan Jenkins, Georgia, LB
A.J. Johnson, Tennessee, LB
Eric Kendricks, UCLA, LB
Hau'oli Kikaha, Washington, DE
Luther Maddy, Virginia Tech, DT
Derrick Malone, Oregon, LB
Tyler Matakevich, Temple, LB
Derrick Mathews, Houston, LB
Lorenzo Mauldin, Louisville, DE
Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State, LB
Ryan Mueller, Kansas State, DE
Steven Nelson, Oregon State, DB
Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss, DT
Shawn Oakman, Baylor, DE
Denzel Perryman, Miami, LB
Marcus Peters, Washington, DB
Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss, DB
Hayes Pullard, USC, LB
Cedric Reed, Texas, DE
Jordan Richards, Stanford, DB
A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama, DE
KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame, DB
Jake Ryan, Michigan, LB
Zack Sanchez, Oklahoma, DB
Danny Shelton, Washington, DT
Derron Smith, Fresno State, DB
Jaylon Smith, Notre Dame, LB
Eric Striker, Oklahoma, LB
Charles Tapper, Oklahoma, DE
A.J. Tarpley, Stanford, LB
Jared Tevis, Arizona, DB
Shaq Thompson, Washington, LB
Tony Washington, Oregon, DE
Trae Waynes, Michigan State, DB
P.J. Williams, Florida State, DB
Leonard Williams, USC, DE
Ramik Wilson, Georgia, LB
Gabe Wright, Auburn, DT