Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Grant Shorin
Bryon Fields Jr.
Fields Jr. Named to Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 05/15/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – Duke redshirt senior cornerback Bryon Fields Jr. has earned a place on the 2016 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List, according to an announcement by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation. Fields Jr. is one of 42 student-athlete nominees for the 14th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy, which honors the top defensive player in college football who makes the biggest impact for his team, both on and off the field.

A three-time Academic All-ACC selection, Fields Jr. is the lone returning starter in Duke's secondary in 2017 after finishing the 2016 campaign with 30 tackles, 0.5 tackle for lost yardage, two interceptions, six pass breakups, eight passes defended and two caused fumbles. In 39 career games, the Charlotte, N.C., native has compiled 142 tackles, 4.0 tackles for loss, 1.0 quarterback sack, three interceptions, one fumble recovery, two caused fumbles and 14 pass breakups.

In 2015, Duke safety Jeremy Cash, a current member of the Carolina Panthers, was a finalist for the award. The year before, linebacker David Helton was a finalist.

Named after Pro Football Hall of Fame member Ronnie Lott, The Lott IMPACT Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player. The Lott Trophy is given to the player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and a distinguished group of former college football head coaches.

To date, the Foundation has donated more than $1.3 million to various charities throughout the country, including more than $500,000 to universities.

The 14th annual Lott IMPACT Trophy Award Banquet will be held December 10 at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif.

The 2017 Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List
Marcus Allen, S, Penn State
Quin Blanding, S, Virginia
Jason Cabinda, LB, Penn State
Sean Chandler, S, Temple
Jack Cichy, LB, Wisconsin
Koron Crump, LB, Arizona State
Duke Ejiofor, DE, Wake Forest
Bryon Fields Jr., CB, Duke
Zaire Franklin, LB, Syracuse
Micah Fitzpatrick, DB, Alabama
Porter Gustin, DE, USC
Brecklyn Hager, DE, Texas
Chase Hansen, S, Utah
Marquis Haynes, DE, Ole Miss
Sam Hubbard, DE, Ohio State
Josey Jewell, LB, Iowa
Joshua Kalu, S, Nebraska
Todd Kelly, Jr, S, Tennessee
Micah Kiser, LB, Virginia
Christian LaCouture, DE, LSU
Harold Landry, DE, Boston College
Tyquan Lewis, DE, Ohio State
Courtney Love, LB, Kentucky
Hercules Mata'afa, DE, Washington State
Derek McCartney, LB, Colorado
Airius Moore, LB, North Carolina State
Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, LB, Oklahoma
Ed Oliver, DL, Houston
D.J. Palmore, LB, Navy
Harrison Phillips, DL, Stanford
D.J. Reed, DB, Kansas State
Cameron Saffle, DE, Cal
Tegray Scales, LB, Indiana
Cameron Smith, LB, USC
K.J. Smith, DE, Baylor
Ty Summers, LB, TCU
Drue Tranquill, S, Notre Dame
Azeem Victor, LB, Washington
Jordan Whitehead, S, Pitt
Christian Wilkins, DT, Clemson
Tre Williams, LB, Auburn
Kenny Young, LB, UCLA