Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Daniel Helm
Helm Named To Mackey Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/11/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt junior Daniel Helm has been selected to the preseason watch list for the John Mackey Award, which honors the nation’s most outstanding tight end by the Friends of John Mackey. It is the first year Helm has been on the watch list.

Helm, a 6-4, 245-pound native of Chatham, Ill., is charted as the Blue Devils’ starting tight end this season after playing in all 12 games of the 2016 campaign.

Last fall, Helm caught 21 passes for 235 yards (11.19) and two touchdowns. He tallied five games with two or more receptions, including a season-high six grabs at Georgia Tech. Helm registered seven games with 20 or more receiving yards with a year-best 72 also against the Yellow Jackets. Both of his receiving scores came at Georgia Tech, covering 23 and seven yards from quarterback Daniel Jones.

Helm ended the year on a strong note, closing with 13 receptions for 153 yards and two scores over the final five weeks. Helm joined the program in January, 2015, after transferring from the University of Tennessee and did not play in 2015 due to NCAA transfer regulations

The Mackey Award is named in honor of NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey, who is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position. Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl championship, commitment to community and place in history as the first president of the NFLPA.

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, recognizes fourteen alumni that have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (‘01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (‘02), Kellen Winslow II (‘03), two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (‘04), Marcedes Lewis (‘05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (‘06), Fred Davis (‘07), Chase Coffman (‘08), D.J. Williams (‘10), Dwayne Allen (’11) of the New England Patriots, Tyler Eifert (’12) of the Cincinnati Bengals, Austin Seferian-Jenkins (’13) of the New York Jets, Nick O’Leary (’14) of the Buffalo Bills, Hunter Henry of the Los Angeles Chargers and 2016 John Mackey Award recipient Jake Butt of the Denver Broncos.

Duke season tickets are available online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.

Duke Players on 2017 NCFAA Watch Lists
Bednarik Award: Ben Humphreys
Maxwell Award: Daniel Jones
Mackey Award: Daniel Helm