Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Mateas, Chi, Chen, Hamlin
Four Blue Devils Tabbed to All-ACC Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/25/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Four members of the fourth-ranked Duke women’s tennis team earned All-ACC honors in a vote of the league coaches, as announced by the conference office Thursday. Freshman Maria Mateas and junior Meible Chi were first-team picks while Kelly Chen and Ellyse Hamlin were second and third-team honorees, respectively.

The Blue Devils earned a trip to the ACC Championship match for the second consecutive year and will enter the 2019 NCAA Tournament with a 23-3 overall record.

Mateas has served as Duke’s No. 1 singles player for all but three matches and has produced an 11-7 record in dual matches. Tabbed as high as eighth in the country, Mateas is currently 6-6 against nationally-ranked foes and most recently cruised to a 6-1, 6-2 victory over eighth-ranked Anna Rogers of NC State. The Chapel Hill, N.C., native entered the year tabbed No. 8 by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) and hasn’t dropped out of the top 25 all season. Also solid in doubles, Mateas primarily partnered with fellow rookie Margaryta Bilokin on Duke’s third court and were 10-5 this season as they reached as high as No. 30 in the country.

2019 marks the third-consecutive season Chi has earned a spot on the All-ACC team as she garnered first-team accolades her rookie year and second team as a sophomore. Chi has split time between Duke’s second and third courts this season and is 23-5 overall. Ranked as high as the No. 8 player in the country, Chi has been a constant in Duke’s lineup this season. The Weston, Fla., native posted a 7-1 ledger in conference action and is 4-2 against nationally-ranked opponents. Also a standout in doubles, Chi has spent most of her time on Duke’s second court with Kaitlyn McCarthy. The duo reached No. 23 in the rankings and most recently defeated fourth-ranked Marie Leduc and Fernanda Navarro of Clemson.

Chen earns a spot on the All-ACC team for the second-straight season after being named ACC Freshman of the Year in 2018. Chen switched between courts one through three and was undefeated at Duke’s top court. Overall this season, Chen is 25-8 and 10-2 in conference play. The Cerritos, Calif., native is 11-5 against ranked opponents as she reached as high as No. 12 in the national rankings. Chen teamed up with Hamlin to form a successful doubles team and earn a ranking of 59.

Hamlin earns All-ACC accolades for the second-straight year and has amassed a 19-2 overall ledger in her final season in a Blue Devil uniform. Hamlin’s 19 wins is the most on the team this year, while she is also 11-2 in ACC contests. The Fairfield, Conn., native split time between courts three through six and produced flawless records on four and five. In doubles, Hamlin partnered with Chen and McCarthy on Duke’s top court, reaching as No. 18 with McCarthy. Overall, Hamlin is 14-7 this year and is a flawless 5-0 on court two.

Miami’s Estela Perez-Somarriba was named Player of the Year while Cameron Morra of North Carolina was named Freshman of the Year. Simon Earnshaw of North Carolina was named the conference’s Coach of the Year.

Duke will wait to hear its fate in the team portion of the NCAA Tournament. The selection show is slated for 6:30 p.m., on April 29 at Individual selections will be announced Tuesday, April 30 at 6 p.m.

#GoDuke | #AllUs

Player of the Year: Estela Perez-Somarriba, Miami
Freshman of the Year: Cameron Morra, North Carolina
Coach of the Year: Simon Earnshaw, NC State

Maria Mateas, Duke
Meible Chi, Duke
Kenya Jones, Georgia Tech
Estela Perez-Somarriba, Miami
Anna Rogers, NC State
Alexa Graham, North Carolina
Makenna Jones, North Carolina
Gabriela Knutson, Syracuse
Meghan Kelley, Virginia

Marie Leduc, Clemson
Kelly Chen, Duke
Carla Touly, Florida State
Emmanuelle Salas, Florida State
Daevenia Achong, Miami
Alana Smith, NC State
Sara Daavettila, North Carolina
Cameron Morra, North Carolina
Emma Davis, Wake Forest

Yufei Long, Boston College
Kylie Wilcox, Boston College
Ellyse Hamlin, Duke
Ana Oparenovic, Florida State
Zoe Spence, Notre Dame
Cameron Corse, Notre Dame
Miranda Ramirez, Syracuse
Natalie Novotna, Virginia Tech
Eliza Omirou, Wake Forest