Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Williams Repeats as NABC National Defensive Player of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/02/2006
article image
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

INDIANAPOLIS - Duke's Shelden Williams again set himself apart from the rest of the country on the defensive side of the ball, being named the National Defensive Player of the Year by the National Association of Basketball Coaches.

Williams is just the fifth player to repeat as National Defensive Player of the Year and continued Duke's dominance of the award.  In the 20 years since the awards inception, six Duke players have won a total of nine times.  The rest of the NCAA has seven players and 12 awards to their credit and no school has more than one winner of the award.

Duke's Tommy Amaker first won the award in 1987 followed a seaosn later by Billy King.  Grant Hill won in 1993 and assistant coach Steve Wojciechowski in 1998.  Shane Batter became just one of three players to three-peat with the award in 1999, 2000 and '01 followed by Williams' selections in 2005 and '06.

UNLV's Stacey Augmon and Wake Forest's Tim Duncan are the other players to win the award three times while Connecticut's Emeka Okafur repeated in 2003 and '04.

Williams had one of the most dominating defensive seasons in ACC history, leading Duke in rebounding, blocked shots and was second in steals.  He lead the ACC in rebounding and blocks and was in the top five in steals, as well. 

Williams helped Duke to a 32-4 record and its seventh ACC Championship in eight years, including three in his tenure.  Duke also won two regular season championships and advanced to the 2004 Final Four.

Williams was named first team All-America by several publications, including the AP, Wooden, and the Senior CLASS All-Seinor All-America team.