Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Duke Honors Student-Athletes At Annual Men's Basketball Banquet
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/30/2006
article image
Photo Courtesy: Associated Press
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

Seniors J.J. Redick and Shelden Williams shared the Swett-Baylin Award as Duke's Most Valuable Player at the Blue Devils' annual men's basketball banquet Saturday night at Cameron Indoor Stadium.

The duo averaged a combined 45.6 points per game, the second-highest scoring average by teammates in Duke history, while leading the Blue Devils to the ACC regular season and tournament championship and the school's ninth straight Sweet Sixteen appearance. Redick, a consensus National Player of the Year selection in 2006, also received the Iron Dukes Award (Most Minutes Played), the Captains' Award, True Blue Award (Most Charges Taken) and Best Free Throw Percentage Award. He was also a unanimous first team All-America selection, the ACC Player of the Year and the ACC Tournament Most Valuable Player. Redick also won the James E. Sullivan Memorial Award as the top amateur athlete in the U.S. Bill Walton (1973) and Bill Bradley (1965) are the only other men’s basketball players to claim the honor.

Williams, the NABC National Defensive Player of the Year and a consensus first team All-America selection, collected Best Rebounding Average, Best Defensive Player and Captains' awards at Saturday's banquet. Seniors Sean Dockery and Lee Melchionni also claimed the Captains' Award.

Senior Ross Perkins received the Coach's Award as the player exemplifying the commitment and values of Duke Basketball, while Joe Pagliuca, a junior walk-on, was given the Dr. Deryl Hart Award as the team's top scholar-athlete for the second straight year. Senior Patrick Johnson earned the Glenn E. "Ted" Mann Award as the reserve contributing the most to team morale.

Freshmen Josh McRoberts and Greg Paulus also took home awards on Saturday with McRoberts claiming the Best Field Goal Percentage Award and Paulus the Most Assists Award. McRoberts shot 60.5 percent (115-of-190) from the field, while Paulus had 187 assists to lead the ACC.

Duke also honored Amanda Green with the Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award. Ali Gardner was honored with the Harry Rainey Outstanding Cheerleader Award and Julie Buddensick took home the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award.

Duke finished the season with a 32-4 overall record (14-2 in ACC play) and the 10th ACC Championship in 26 seasons under Mike Krzyzewski. The Blue Devils also earned the top spot in the final AP poll, marking the 10th consecutive season that Duke finished the season ranked among the nation's top 10 teams.

2005-06 Duke Men's Basketball Award Winners
Swett-Baylin Award (Most Valuable Player): J.J. Redick and Shelden Williams
Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Joe Pagliuca
Glenn E. "Ted" Mann, Jr., Award (Reserve Contributing Most to Team Morale): Patrick Johnson
Coach's Award (Player Exemplifying the Commitment and Values of Duke Basketball): Ross Perkins
Iron Dukes Award (Most Minutes Played): J.J. Redick
True Blue Award (Most Charges Taken): J.J. Redick
Captains' Awards: Sean Dockery, Lee Melchionni,  J.J. Redick and Shelden Williams
Best Field Goal Percentage Award: Josh McRoberts
Best Rebounding Average Award: Shelden Williams
Best Free Throw Percentage Award: J.J. Redick
Most Assists Award: Greg Paulus
Best Defensive Player Award: Shelden Williams
Senior Manager Award: Amanda Green
Harry Rainey Outstanding Cheerleader Award: Ali Gardner
Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award: Julie Buddensick