Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Duke Honors Student-Athletes At Annual Men's Basketball Banquet
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/11/2007
article image
2006-07 Team MVPs - Josh McRoberts and DeMarcus Nelson
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Junior DeMarcus Nelson and sophomore Josh McRoberts shared the Swett-Baylin Award as Duke's Most Valuable Player at the Blue Devils' annual men's basketball banquet Tuesday night at Cameron Indoor Stadium. The duo averaged a combined 27.1 points per game, while leading the Blue Devils to its 12th consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and an 11th straight 20+ win season.

Nelson, an honorable mention All-ACC selection in 2007, also received the Bill Krzyzewski Captains' Award and the Best Defensive Player Award. He was also a first team ACC All-Defensive team selection. McRoberts, a second team All-ACC honoree, collected Iron Dukes (most minutes played), Best Field Goal Percentage, Best Rebounding Average and Captains' awards at Tuesday's banquet.

Joe Pagliuca, the lone senior on the Blue Devil roster this season, received the Coach's Award as the player exemplifying the commitment and values of Duke Basketball. Pagliuca was also awarded the Dr. Deryl Hart Award as the team's top scholar-athlete for the third straight year. Sophomore David McClure earned the Glenn E. "Ted" Mann Award as the reserve contributing the most to team morale.

Sophomore Greg Paulus and freshman Jon Scheyer also took home awards on Tuesday with Paulus claiming the Most Assists Award and Scheyer the Best Free Throw Percentage Award. Paulus had 124 assists on the year, while Scheyer shot 84.6 percent (115-of-136).

Duke also honored Kevin Cullen, Chris Lauten and Scott Naturman with the Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award. Molly Rhodes and Ebony Thompson were honored with the Harry Rainey Outstanding Cheerleader Award and Theresa Poulos took home the Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award.

2006-07 Duke Men's Basketball Award Winners
Swett-Baylin Award (Most Valuable Player): DeMarcus Nelson and Josh McRoberts
Dr. Deryl Hart Award (Top Scholar-Athlete): Joe Pagliuca
Glenn E. "Ted" Mann, Jr., Award (Reserve Contributing Most to Team Morale): David McClure
Coach's Award (Player Exemplifying the Commitment and Values of Duke Basketball): Joe Pagliuca
Iron Dukes Award (Most Minutes Played): Josh McRoberts
Bill Krzyzewski Captains' Awards: Josh McRoberts, DeMarcus Nelson and Greg Paulus
Best Field Goal Percentage Award: Josh McRoberts
Best Rebounding Average Award: Josh McRoberts
Best Free Throw Percentage Award: Jon Scheyer
Most Assists Award: Greg Paulus
Best Defensive Player Award: DeMarcus Nelson
Gopal Varadhan Senior Manager Award: Kevin Cullen, Chris Lauten and Scott Naturman
Harry Rainey Outstanding Cheerleader Award: Molly Rhodes and Ebony Thompson
Charles Hogan Memorial Band Award: Theresa Poulos