• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Watch X Live Rollup
Daniels Honored by National Football Foundation
Thursday 04/23/2012  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Courtesy: Duke Photography
View larger
Matt Daniels
Related Links

GREENVILLE, N.C. - Duke football standout Matt Daniels was named the recipient of the University Scholar Athlete award by the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame, Inc., on Monday night at the Bill Dooley Triangle East Chapter of North Carolina annual awards dinner held on the East Carolina University campus in Greenville.

In 2011, Daniels earned first team All-ACC and second team All-America honors after leading Duke in tackles with 126.  Third in the balloting for ACC Defensive Player of the Year accolades, he ranked third in the conference in tackles per game (10.5) while becoming the first Duke safety to receive first team all-league honors since Ray Farmer did so in 1995.  Following the season, Daniels represented Duke in the 2012 East-West Shrine Game in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Daniels, who served as a team captain in 2011, played in 46 career games and compiled totals of 324 tackles, 13.0 tackles for loss, four interceptions, seven caused fumbles, three fumble recoveries and 27 pass breakups.  On Duke's all-time records charts, he ranks 13th in tackles, third in caused fumbles and tied for sixth in pass breakups. 

A native of Fayetteville, Ga., Daniels will graduate from Duke next month with a degree in public policy studies.  He was named to the Academic All-ACC squad three times during his career.

Other recipients of the 2012 award included Michael Barbour (East Carolina), Brandon Outlaw (N.C. Central), Mikel Overgaard (N.C. State) and Curtis Byrd (North Carolina).

Past Duke winners of the University Scholar Athlete honor include Lennie Friedman (1999), Sims Lenhardt (2000), Spencer Romine (2001), Ben Erdeljac (2002), Jaymon Small (2003), Chris Douglas (2004), Giuseppe Aguanno (2005), Brendan Dewan (2006), Eli Nichols (2007), Patrick Bailey (2008), Ryan Wood (2009), Brett Huffman (2010), Vincent Rey (2010) and Bryan Morgan (2011).


DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Football

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Duke Spirit Jerseys - $49.95
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon