Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Belshaw, Ibeagha Named Preseason All-Americans
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/24/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.- Soccer America announced its preseason All-America team today, and goalkeeper James Belshaw and defender Sebastien Ibeagha were among the 25 players listed. Duke and North Carolina had the most represented among ACC schools, while Connecticut had the most selections of any school with three.

For Belshaw, this is his second preseason accolade to date after previously being named to the College Soccer News preseason All-America second team.  The senior from Nottingham, England has started 60 games during his Duke tenure. Throughout his four-year career, he has compiled a 32-21-7 record with a 1.14 goals against average. In addition, the two-time team captain owns a career save percentage of .745 and 13 shutouts.  

Last season, Belshaw started all 21 contests in goal for the Blue Devils and was named to the All-ACC first team, the NSCAA All-South Region second team and the All-ACC Academic Team.

Ibeagha has appeared in 33 career games at center back for the Blue Devils. Last season, the Missouri City, Texas, native was voted to the All-ACC second team and the NSCAA All-South Region second team, after anchoring the defense to four shutouts.

The Blue Devils kick off their season on Saturday, Aug. 25 against Notre Dame in South Bend, Ind., at 7:30 p.m. They return home to host the John Rennie Nike Invitational on Aug.31 and Sept. 2 against Santa Clara and Delaware, respectively.  

James Belshaw- Duke- Senior
Andre Blake- Connecticut- Sophomore
Scott Goodwin- North Carolina- Senior

Sebastien Ibeagha- Duke- Junior
Eric Miller- Creighton- Sophomore
Eric Schoenle- West Virginia- Senior
Kyle Venter- New Mexico- Senior
Matt Wiet- UCLA- Senior
Walker Zimmerman- Furman- Sophomore

Carlos Alvarez- Connecticut- Senior
Scott Caldwell- Akron- Senior
Mickey Lopez- North Carolina- Sophomore
Jonathan Mendoza- Stetson- Senior
John Stertzer- Maryland- Senior
Wil Trapp- Akron- Sophomore
Paul Wyatt- James Madison- Senior

Dion Acoff- UC Santa Barbara- Senior
Ashton Bennett- Charlotte- Senior
Mamadou Diouf- Connecticut- Junior
Giuseppe Gentile- Charlotte- Sophomore
Steve Neumann- Georgetown- Junior
Mark Sherrod- Memphis- Junior
Yannick Smith- Old Dominion- Senior
Gyasi Zardes- CSU Bakersfield- Junior
Eriq Zavaleta- Indiana- Sophomore