Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Duke Drops Final Road Dual at The Citadel
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/16/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

CHARLESTON, S.C.—The Duke University wrestling team jumped out to an early lead, but could not hold off The Citadel as the Blue Devils dropped a 26-11 dual to the Bulldogs at McAlister Field House.

Winning for Duke (6-13) were redshirt sophomores Conner Hartmann, Brendan Walsh and Trey Adamson. The Citadel improves to 9-3 on the year after beating both Duke and North Carolina on its senior day.

The dual started at 197 with Hartmann up against Marshall Haas. After a scoreless first period, Hartmann took command of the bout in the second with a five-point period. He added another takedown and the riding time bonus point for the 8-0 major decision and upped his record to 18-8 overall and 13-6 in duals this year.

Walsh, wrestling in his fourth straight dual for the Blue Devils, added three more points to the Duke scoreboard with a 6-2 decision over Joseph Bexley. Scoring on a pair of takedowns and an escape, Walsh improves his season record to 8-4 and 3-1 in duals.

Trailing 7-0 after two matches, The Citadel benefited from a forfeit at 125 and then added a decision at 133 from Aaron Hansen to take its first lead of the afternoon, 9-7. The Bulldogs added on to the advantage with a technical fall from No. 15 Ugi Khishignyam at 141 pounds and decisions at 149, 157 and 165.

Adamson, earning his 15th win of the year, stopped The Citadel’s run by posting his team-best eighth major decision. The Riverton, Utah native dominated Terrell Forbes 12-3 and improved his overall record to 15-11 and his dual mark to 10-8.

The Blue Devils close out their regular season Feb. 22 against ACC foe NC State and Northwestern at 10 a.m., and 2 p.m., respectively.

The Citadel 26, Duke 11
197 – Conner Hartmann (D) major dec. Marshall Haas (C), 8-0; Team Score: Citadel 0, Duke 4
285 – Brendan Walsh (D) dec. Joseph Bexley (C) 6-2; TS: 0-7
125 – Joaquin Marquez (C) won by forfeit: TS: 6-7
133 – Aaron Hansen (C) dec. Evan Botwin (D), 9-5; TS: 9-7
141 – No. 15 Undrakhbayar Khishignyam (C) tech fall Xaviel Ramos (D), 21-6, 5:21; TS: 14-7
149 – Matthew Frisch (C) dec. Connor Bass (D), 5-3; TS: 17-7
157 – Aaron Walker (C) dec., Immanuel Kerr- Brown (D), 10-6; TS: 20-7
165 – No. 8 Turtogtokh Luvsandorj (C) dec. Marcus Cain (D), 8-1; TS: 23-7
174 – Trey Adamson (D) major dec. Terrell Forbes (C), 12-3; TS: 23-11
184 – John Duane (C) dec. Jacob Kasper (D), 9-7; TS: 26-11