Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Joanne P. McCallie
McCallie Appointed to Represent the East by the WBCA
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/07/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Duke women’s basketball head coach Joanne P. McCallie has been appointed to serve as the NCAA Division I East Representative for the 2013-14 academic year as announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA).  

Coach P is very familiar with the WBCA as she has served on the board the last two years as a Division I At-Large member.  

McCallie recently completed her sixth season at Duke and 21st year as a head coach, while totaling a 490-183 overall record.  Coach P has guided the Blue Devils to a 174-35 record over the last six years and has been selected the ACC Coach of the Year in three out of the last four seasons.  McCallie led Duke to the 2013, 2011 and 2010 ACC Tournament Championships and four straight ACC regular season titles.  

The 2005 National Coach of the Year has sent the Blue Devils to four consecutive NCAA Elite Eight appearances and to 30 or more victories in three out of the last four seasons.  McCallie became the first Division I head coach to win a conference title in four different leagues and to be named conference coach of the year in four different conferences (ACC, Big Ten, America East, North Atlantic).  

The WBCA, founded in 1981, promotes women's basketball by unifying coaches at all levels to develop a reputable identity for the sport and to foster and promote the development of the game as a sport for women and girls. More information can be found at  

A complete roster for the 2013-14 WBCA Board of Directors is below:
Executive Committee
Sue Semrau, Head Coach, Florida State University, President
Coquese Washington, Head Coach, Penn State University, Vice President/President-Elect
Matthew Mitchell, Head Coach, University of Kentucky, Secretary
Deb Patterson, Head Coach, Kansas State University, Treasurer
Connie Hurlbut, Senior Associate Commissioner, Western Athletic Conference, WBCA Committee on Basketball Issues Chair
Charli Turner Thorne, Head Coach, Arizona State University, Past President

Board of Directors
Anucha Brown, NCAA Vice President for Women’s Basketball
Amanda Butler, Head Coach, University of Florida, Division I At-Large
Nikki Caldwell, Head Coach, Louisiana State University, Division I At-Large
Claudette Charney, Head Coach, Hillsdale College, Division II Legislative
Tricia Cullop, Head Coach, University of Toledo, Division I At-Large
Diane Dickman, Managing Director, NCAA Academic & Membership Affairs
Carmen Dolfo, Head Coach, Western Washington University, Division II Group II
Rich Ensor, Commissioner, Metro Atlantic Conference, Conference Commissioners
Kelly Graves, Head Coach, Gonzaga University, Division I West
Brandan Harrell, Head Coach, Georgia Highlands College, Junior/Community Colleges
Aaron Johnston, South Dakota State University, Division I Midwest
Mary Klinger, Head Coach, Rutgers Preparatory School, High School
Patricia Manning, Head Coach, Williams College, Division III At-Large
Joanne P. McCallie, Head Coach, Duke University, Division I East
Melissa McFerrin, Head Coach, University of Memphis, Division I Mideast
Lisa Mispley Fortier, Assistant Coach, Gonzaga University, Assistant Coaches
Kirsten Moore, Head Coach, Westmont College, NAIA
Danielle O’Banion, Head Coach, Kent State University, BCA
Martha Putallaz, Duke University, Faculty Athletic Representatives
Jennifer Rizzotti, Head Coach, University of Hartford, Division I Legislative
Vic Schaefer, Head Coach, Mississippi State University, Male Coaches
Mary Beth Spirk, Head Coach, Moravian College, Division III At-Large
Dawn Staley, Head Coach, University of South Carolina, Division I At-Large
Todd Starkey, Head Coach, Lenoir-Rhyne University, Division II Group I
Christy Thomaskutty, Head Coach, Emory University, Division III Legislative