Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Fowler, Wolf Named to Tewaaraton Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/28/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—Duke University seniors Brendan Fowler and Jordan Wolf are among the 50 players selected to the 2014 Tewaaraton Award men’s watch list presented by Panama Jack as announced by the Tewaaraton Foundation Thursday night. Fowler and Wolf are among 17 ACC selections on the list.

Duke has had two Tewaaraton Award winners in program history with Matt Danowski taking home the honor in 2007 and Ned Crotty doing so in 2010 following the Blue Devils’ first national title.

Fowler, Duke’s faceoff specialist, climbed to national prominence in his junior season after helping the Blue Devils capture their second NCAA crown. In his first year of being the man draw man, Fowler went on to set the NCAA single season record for faceoff wins (339) and the runner-up mark in ground balls in a year (209). He was named to the USILA All-America first team for his efforts as well as being honored as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year and the NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player after winning 20-of-29 faceoffs in the title tilt. In 2014, Fowler has won 64 percent of his faceoffs (57-of-89) and picked up 38 ground balls to bring his career total to 62 percent.

Duke’s top attackman for the past two seasons, Wolf headlines the Blue Devil offense with 19 points in his first four games. He is on pace to become just the fourth player in Duke history to reach the 100 career goals and 100 career assists marks, needing just 10 more assists to join the elite fraternity. A four-time All-ACC honoree, Wolf is the first Duke player to achieve All-ACC honors in each of his first three seasons as a Blue Devil. He currently ranks sixth at Duke in career points, eighth in career goals, seventh in career assists. In the ACC records book, the Wynnewood, Pa., native is 15th in career points and 18th in career goals.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Players not named to the initial list have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Additions will be announced on March 20 and April 10. On April 24, the field will be narrowed to 25 men's and 25 women's nominees. Nominees can be players on the watch lists or players not on the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions for players who earn a spot. Five men's and five women's finalists will be announced on May 8 and will be invited to the May 29 ceremony in Washington.

Ranked No. 1 with a 4-0 record, Duke will take on No. 2/3 Maryland in the final ACC regular season matchup between the two squads. Faceoff is set for 12 p.m., at Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium.