Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Boone Named to Manning Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/14/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt senior quarterback Anthony Boone has been selected to the preseason watch list for the Manning Award, an honor sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl and presented annually to the top quarterback in the country.

Last year, Boone, a 6-0, 225-pound native of Weddington, N.C., completed 206-of-322 (.640) passes for 2,260 yards with 13 touchdowns & 13 interceptions while rushing 66 times for 214 yards and five additional scores.  In the ACC, he ranked third in completions per game (18.73), third in pass completion percentage, sixth in passing yards per game (205.5), sixth in total offensive yards per game (224.9), eighth in points responsible per game (10.00) and eighth in pass efficiency.

Additionally in 2013, Boone posted three of Duke’s top 10 all-time best single-game pass completion percentage standards against Wake Forest (.828 [24-29]; 3rd), Navy (.816 [31-38]; 7th) and N.C. Central (.800 [16-20]; t9th).  Against Texas A&M in the 46th annual Chick-fil-A Bowl, he established Duke bowl game records for pass completions (29), pass attempts (45), passing yardage (427), total offensive yards (454) and TD responsibility (4) while matching the school standard for passing TDs (3).

Boone is one of 32 quarterbacks named to the list.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

“This is always a great time of year with college football ramping up once again,” said Archie Manning. “We have a very strong group of 32 quarterbacks on our Watch List this year and we’ve seen them all in action, but every year there are new guys who jump right in and become stars. That’s what makes college football such a wonderful sport – you never know what might happen once the teams get out on the field.”

“We have had the opportunity to recognize 10 outstanding quarterbacks with the Manning Award,” said Paul Hoolahan, Allstate Sugar Bowl CEO. “It is truly a great honor for the Allstate Sugar Bowl to sponsor this award and we wish the best of luck to every quarterback and team in the country for another great year of college football.”

The Manning Award will be recognizing its 11th winner this year. USC’s Matt Leinart was the inaugural winner of the award in 2005, followed by Texas’ Vince Young in 2006. Both went on to be top 10 NFL draft picks. In 2007, LSU’s JaMarcus Russell earned the award and was the NFL’s No. 1 draft pick. Boston College’s Matt Ryan claimed the award in 2008 and was drafted No. 3, quickly becoming the starting quarterback for the Atlanta Falcons. In 2009, Florida star Tim Tebow earned the honor – he also went on to be selected in the first round of the NFL Draft. The 2010 winner was Texas signal-caller Colt McCoy, at the time, the winningest quarterback in college football history, who was selected by the Cleveland Browns in the draft. Auburn’s Cameron Newton earned the award in 2011, prior to being selected No. 1 overall in the 2011 NFL Draft by the Carolina Panthers. The 2012 honoree was Robert Griffin, III, from Baylor, who was also a top NFL draft pick (No. 2 overall by the Washington Redskins). The 2013 and 2014 winners were also the first freshmen to collect the honor – in 2013, it was Texas A&M’s Johnny Manziel, and he was followed by last year’s winner, Jameis Winston from Florida State. Both freshmen also collected the Heisman Trophy after their sensational debut seasons.

Boone and Crowder are two of 43 letterwinners returning for Duke in 2014 after helping the program to a 10-4 record, the ACC Coastal Division crown and a berth in the Chick-fil-A Bowl on New Year’s Eve.

Duke opens the season on August 30 against Elon at Wallace Wade Stadium. Tickets are available at or by calling (919) 681-BLUE.

2014 Manning Award Watch List

Anthony Boone, Duke                           
Terrance Broadway, ULL                               
Shane Carden,  East Carolina           
Rakeem Cato, Marshall                    
Connor Cook,  Michigan State        
Cody Fajardo, Nevada                      
Devin Gardner, Michigan                    
Garrett Grayson, Colorado State        
Connor Halliday, Washington State  
Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion         
Taysom Hill, BYU                              
Kevin Hogan, Stanford                    
Brett Hundley, UCLA                           
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green       
Chuckie Keeton, Utah State                
Taylor Kelly, Arizona State           
Cody Kessler, USC                              
Trevor Knight, Oklahoma                 
Sean Mannion, Oregon State           
Marcus Mariota, Oregon                       
Nick Marshall, Auburn                       
Braxton Miller, Ohio State                 
Bryce Petty, Baylor                         
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State     
Keenan Reynolds, Navy                            
Jake Rudock, Iowa                            
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana                       
P.J. Walker, Temple                       
Bo Wallace, Ole Miss                    
Jake Waters, Kansas State            
Davis Webb, Texas Tech               
Jameis Winston, Florida State