• Store
  • Promotions - Carousel Above Header
  • Tickets
  • Auctions - Carousel Above Header
  • Duke Photo Store
  • Donate - Carousel Above Header
  • Uploaded Ad

Scheyer One of 16 Finalists for Oscar Robertson Trophy
Tuesday 02/17/2010  -  Duke Sports Information
Print Print    Send this article to a friend Email    Subscribe to our Rss feed   RSS   
Courtesy: Duke Photography
View larger
Jon Scheyer

DURHAM, N.C. - Duke's Jon Scheyer is among the 16 finalists for the 2010 Oscar Robertson Trophy, to be presented to the U.S. Basketball Writers Association national player of the year.

Scheyer enters Wednesday's game against Miami ranked in the top 10 of the ACC in nine statistical categories. He leads the conference in free throw percentage, three-point field goals, assist-to-turnover ratio and minutes played, while also ranking second in scoring, fourth in assists, sixth in three-point percentage, tied for seventh in steals and 10th in field goal percentage.

The Northbrook, Ill., native has scored in double figures in 24 of 25 games, with an ACC-best 13 games with 20 or more points scored. Scheyer has led the Blue Devils in scoring 11 times and in assists in 24 of 25 games. He has scored 20+ points in four straight games and in eight of 11 conference matchups.

Scheyer ranks fourth in the NCAA with a 3.12:1 assist-to-turnover ratio and also ranks in the top 50 in scoring, assists, three-point field goals, three-point field goal percentage and free throw percentage.

Among the 16 finalists for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, Scheyer is second with 24 double figure scoring games and tied for fifth with 13 games with 20 or more points.

The presentation of this year's award will take place on Friday, April 2 at the USBWA's annual awards breakfast at the Columbia Club in Indianapolis in conjunction with the NCAA Men's Final Four. The breakfast will also honor the winner of the Henry Iba Award, the association's coach of the year.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association, which consists of nearly 900 journalists. The ballot will be distributed to the membership on Mon., March 1.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is awarded to the USBWA's Player of the Year. It is the nation's oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA's first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

DVDsSocial MediaIronDukesStoresMobileAuction
Back to Men's Basketball

Proud Sponsor
click to read more
Duke Spirit Jerseys - $49.95
click to read more
Buy Exclusive Sports & Campus Pics
Official Duke Photo Store
click to read more
Buy Official DVD 5-Pack for $118.95
Duke Championship DVD 5-Pack
click to read more
Bid on Signed Photos & More
Duke Online Auctions
click to read more
Shop Here - Duke eSTORE
Replay Images Soon