Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Grant Hill Claims NBA Sportsmanship Award for Third Time
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 04/26/2010
article image
Grant Hill won his third NBA Sportsmanship Award on Monday
Photo Courtesy: NBA Photo
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

NEW YORK -- Former Duke standout Grant Hill (Phoenix Suns) was named the recipient of the Joe Dumars Trophy presented to the 2009-10 NBA Sportsmanship Award winner, the NBA announced Monday. Hill becomes the first three-time winner in the award's history (2004-05, 2007-08, 2009-10).

A former Duke player has now won the NBA Sportsmanship Award in five of the last six years.

A 15-year veteran, Hill (Pacific) was one of six divisional winners, which included Atlanta's Al Horford (Southeast), Boston's Ray Allen (Atlantic), Cleveland's Antawn Jamison (Central), Denver's Chauncey Billups (Northwest) and Houston's Luis Scola (Southwest).
Hill received 96 first-place votes (2,485 total points) of a possible 315.

For the sixth consecutive year, NBA players voted on this award, with eleven points given for each first-place vote, nine points for each second-place vote, seven points for third, five points for fourth, three points for fifth and one point for each sixth-place vote received. Each team nominated one of its players for the award. Former NBA players Mike Bantom, Mark Jackson, Tom "Satch" Sanders, Kenny Smith and Eric Snow then selected the six divisional winners.

The NBA will make a $10,000 donation on behalf of Hill to the WellCare Foundation.

The NBA will also make a $5,000 donation to each of the divisional winner's charities of choice: The Ferst Foundation on behalf of Horford; Ray of Hope Foundation on behalf of Allen; Hammer and Nails and Cleveland Police Athletic League on behalf of Jamison; Porter-Billups Leadership Academy on behalf of Billups; Manu Ginobili Foundation on behalf of Scola.

The annual award reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball, a key focus of the league's NBA Cares program efforts. The trophy is named for former Detroit Pistons guard and Hall of Famer Joe Dumars, the award's first recipient.

Past NBA Sportsmanship Award winners 
1995-96: Joe Dumars, Pistons (Inaugural award)
1996-97: Terrell Brandon, Cavs
1997-98: Avery Johnson, Spurs
1998-99: Hersey Hawkins, Sonics
1999-2000: Eric Snow, Sixers
2000-01: David Robinson, Spurs
2001-02: Steve Smith, Spurs
2002-03: Ray Allen, Sonics
2003-04: P.J. Brown, Hornets
2004-05: Grant Hill, Magic
2005-06: Elton Brand, Clippers
2006-07: Luol Deng, Bulls
2007-08: Grant Hill, Suns

2008-09: Chauncey Billups, Nuggets
2009-10: Grant Hill, Suns