Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
City of Chicago Declares Sept. 15 Mike Krzyzewski Day
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/27/2010
article image
Duke head coach Mike Krzyzewski
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

CHICAGO -- The City of Chicago has declared September 15 "Mike Krzyzewski Day" in conjunction with Coach Krzyzewski's induction into the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame. A resolution introduced by Alderman Ed Burke has been adopted by the Chicago City Council and signed by Mayor Richard M. Daley.

Born and raised in Chicago and a graduate of Weber High School, Krzyzewski has won four NCAA titles at Duke University and is five wins shy of becoming the fifth coach in NCAA history to win 800 games at one school. He will receive the Ray Meyer College Coach of the Year Award at the hall of fame's annual ceremonies and dinner at Hawthorne Race Course, which start at 6 p.m. on September 15.

Also in the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame's Class of 2010 are Chicago White Sox future National Baseball Hall of Famer Frank Thomas, Chicago Blackhawks Chairman Rocky Wirtz, Illinois star and NFL veteran Simeon Rice and Pro Football Hall of Famer John Hannah, who will receive the George Conor Lifetime Achievement Award for invaluable contributions to the game of football.

Thomas, who played 16 years for the White Sox, will be recognized for his 521 career homeruns and numerous records. The induction of Wirtz salutes his outstanding leadership in the remarkable turnaround of the Stanley Cup Champion Blackhawks. Rocky's late father and grandfather are also in the Chicagoland Sports Hall of Fame.

Spectacular achievements on many levels highlight the careers of all inductees. Joining this year's class are Bill Madlock (Chicago Cubs), Jeremy Roenick (Chicago Blackhawks), Emmette Bryant (DePaul University, NBA), Linda Mastrandrea (Paralympic Gold Medalist), Nick Rassas (Notre Dame All-American) and Willie May (Indiana All-American).