Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Singler and Smith Collect First Team All-ACC Honors
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/07/2011
article image
Nolan Smith & Kyle Singler
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - Duke's senior captains, Kyle Singler and Nolan Smith, were named to the All-ACC first team on Monday in an announcemnt by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Duke was the only school with two players on the first team, the second straight year they have placed two on the first unit. It is the 17th season that the Blue Devils have had two first team selections with 11 of those seasons coming under head coach Mike Krzyzewski.

Singler has been named to the first team in each of the last two years and is a four-time All-ACC selection with second team honors in 2009 and third team in 2008. He is the 17th player in school history to earn first team All-ACC honors in two or more seasons. He is just the fourth player to earn a spot on the All-ACC list in all four seasons, joining Mike Gminski, Johnny Dawkins and J.J. Redick.

Smith was the only unanimous first team selection, receiving all 75 first place votes. It is his first career first team honor and second straight year he has made All-ACC. He was a second team choice last season. Smith was also named to the ACC All-Defensive team, the first such honor in his career.

Duke sophomore Mason Plumlee received honorable mention All-ACC.

Joining Singler and Smith on the All-ACC first team were Jordan Williams of Maryland, Malcolm Delaney of Virginia Tech and Reggie Jackson of Boston College. Second team honorees included three North Carolina players with Tyler Zeller, John Henson and Harrison Barnes joining Iman Shumpert of Georgia Tech and Jeff Allen of Virginia Tech on the list. On the third team was Chris Singleton of Florida State, Demontez Stitt of Clemson, Joe Trapani of Boston College, Malcolm Grant of Miami and Kendall Marshall of North Carolina.

Also on the ACC All-Defensive team were Henson, Singleton, Shumpert and Jerai Grant of Clemson.