Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Baseball Places Six on All-ACC Academic Team
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/26/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. - The Duke baseball team landed six selections on the 2012 All-ACC Academic Baseball Team announced Tuesday by commissioner John Swofford.

With its six selections in 2012, Duke has placed at least five on the team for six consecutive seasons. The Blue Devils have amassed 39 academic team honorees since the award's inception in 2006, the third-highest total in the conference.

Representing Duke on this year's squad are junior Jeff Kremer, freshman Grant McCabe, senior Will Piwnica-Worms, junior Mike Rosenfeld, junior Marcus Stroman and freshman Trent Swart.

Piwnica-Worms is making his fourth appearance on the All-ACC Academic Team, while Kremer earned his second nod. Piwnica-Worms is the only player on the 2012 conference academic team to have earned the honor four times in his career. In addition, 2012 first team All-ACC pick Stroman was one of 14 ACC players to collect both all-conference and all-academic team honors in 2012.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative grade point average during his academic career.

The 2012 All-ACC Academic Baseball Team is as follows:

Name School Class
Kevin Brady *** Clemson JR
Thomas Brittle Clemson JR
Scott Firth** Clemson JR
Spencer Kieboom** Clemson JR
Jonathan Meyer Clemson JR
Phil Pohl ** Clemson SR
Jason Stolz *** Clemson SR
Jeff Kremer ** Duke JR
Grant McCabe Duke FR
Trent Swart Duke FR
Will Piwnica-Worms *** Duke SR
Mike Rosenfeld Duke SO
Marcus Stroman Duke JR
Robert Benincasa ** Florida State JR
Mike Compton Florida State FR
Brandon Leibrandt Florida State FR
Stephen McGee Florida State SO
Peter Miller Florida State SO
Seth Miller Florida State JR
James Ramsey *** Florida State SR
Gage Smith Florida State SO
Devon Travis *** Florida State JR
Zane Evans ** Georgia Tech JR
Brandon Thomas ** Georgia Tech JR
Kyle Convissar ** Maryland SO
Brett Harman *** Maryland SR
Jimmy Reed Maryland JR
E.J. Encinosa ** Miami JR
Eric Erickson Miami GR
Alfonso Salcines Miami SO
Brian Holberton ** North Carolina SO
Benton Moss North Carolina FR
Chris Munnelly North Carolina JR
Shane Taylor ** North Carolina SO
Brett Austin NC State FR
Ethan Ogburn ** NC State JR
Vance Williams ** NC State GR
Colin Harrington Virginia JR
Nate Irving Virginia FR
Branden Kline ** Virginia JR
Andrew Aizenstadt Virginia Tech JR
Chad Pinder ** Virginia Tech SO
Mark Zagunis Virginia Tech FR
Tim Cooney Wake Forest JR
Evan Stephens Wake Forest SO
Mac Williamson Wake Forest JR

** - two-time honoree
*** - three-time honoree
**** - four-time honoree