Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
ACC Commissioner John Swofford and 2012 ACC Coach of the Year David Cutcliffe
Cutcliffe Named ACC Coach of the Year
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 11/27/2012
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. -- Duke head football coach David Cutcliffe has been named the 2012 ACC Coach of the Year as voted on by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

Now in his fifth year at the helm of the Duke gridiron program, Cutcliffe has guided the Blue Devils to a 6-6 record this season including bowl eligibility for the first time since 1994.  The six wins in 2012 match the combined victory total from the past two seasons.

"This honor is both humbling and rewarding because of the quality of the coaches in our conference," said Cutcliffe.  "Like all awards, the credit reaches far beyond one person and this is truly one for our entire program.  Ultimately, the acclaim goes to both our staff and the group of young men that came to practice every day with a desire to improve and prepare, gave their best effort on Saturdays, succeeded academically and served our community with pure selflessness.  While this was a season of progress for our program, many of the goals we laid out five years ago have not been reached and we'll continue our pursuit of excellence."

A native of Birmingham, Ala., Cutcliffe has guided the Blue Devils to 21 victories in his four-plus seasons after Duke managed just 10 wins in the previous eight years.  Owner of a 4-1 record as a head coach in post-season action, he will guide Duke to the program's ninth bowl game next month.  Cutcliffe is the fourth Duke coach to earn the award, joining Bill Murray (1954, 1960 & 1962), Steve Spurrier (1988 & 1989) and Fred Goldsmith (1994). 

Cutcliffe received 25 votes to easily outdistance Clemson's Dabo Swinney (7 votes), Florida State's Jimbo Fisher (5), North Carolina's Larry Fedora (4), Miami's Al Golden (4) and N.C. State's Tom O'Brien (1). 

Voting for the 2012 ACC Coach of the Year award was conducted by 46 members of the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association.

David Cutcliffe, Duke (25)
Dabo Swinney, Clemson (7)
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State (5)
Larry Fedora, North Carolina (4)
Al Golden, Miami (4)
Tom O'Brien, NC State (1)