Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: David Gonzales
Adam Sumrall Senior Profile
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/18/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. - The Duke men's golf team will travel down to The Hootie at the Bulls Bay Intercollegiate Tournament in Charleston, S.C., March 24-26.  Recently, sat down with senior Adam Sumrall to learn more about the South Bend, Ind., native. What has been your proudest moment at Duke?
Adam Sumrall: Probably seeing everything we accomplished as a team a few years ago going to the Final Four. That was awesome for us and for the future of the program. To be able to be a part of that and see that kind of progression was a really proud moment. What is your favorite part of being a Duke student-athlete?
AS: To be a part of the Duke community. All of the other athletes have been great, and all of the staff has been fantastic as well, so to be a part of something really special is what I enjoy about being here. What has been your favorite class at Duke?
AS: Theory and Practice of Coaching. It was a great class to be a part of with some of the other athletes. We learned a little about what we do and how to coach others if we have the chance to later in life. What has been your most challenging class at Duke?
AS: Probably a political science class that I was in last year. It was about macroeconomic policies, the European Unions and what has been going on during the financial crises. Tell us about a time when you first started playing your sport.
AS: I started when I was five. I got my first set of clubs for my sixth birthday, and I have been in love with it ever since. As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up? What do you want to be now?
AS: A professional golfer I suppose or being successful like my dad. Either one of those would be good for me. Now, I still have my sights on being a professional golfer. I feel like I should give that a try. What sport other than your own would you play?
AS: I used to play basketball when I was in high school. I have some height. Basketball is a big part of the lifestyle of growing up in Indiana. Do you have any hidden talents?
AS: I can play the piano a little bit. What is one possession you can't live without?
AS: Probably my golf clubs. I take them almost everywhere. Mountains or Beach?
AS: Beach, for sure. My family likes to take vacations to Hawaii, so we spend a little time there. I like to be lazy and lay on the beach.