Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Getty Images
Blue Devils Vying for MLL Championship
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/23/2013
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.—Three games, two days, one championship. The Major League Lacrosse Championship is what four former Blue Devils and a current assistant coach will be in search of in Philadelphia this weekend as the MLL Playoffs get underway Aug. 24 at PPL Park in Chester, Pa.

 Returning to the city where the Blue Devils captured the 2013 NCAA Championship, Justin Turri, Zack Greer, Matt Danowski, Joe Cinosky and Jake Tripucka all will be looking for a title from the professional ranks. Turri and Greer suit up for the unbeaten Denver Outlaws, while Danowski, Cinosky and Tripucka are Charlotte Hounds.

The Outlaws cruised through the regular season with a 14-0 mark and are in search of their 15th win when they take on No. 4 seed Charlotte in the franchise’s first appearance in the playoffs Aug. 24 at 1 p.m. on ESPN2. At 7-7, Danowski, an assistant coach at Duke this past season, is a big reason the Hounds are there.

He had a career-best regular season with 49 points in just 12 games. He tallied 33 goals, six of which were two-pointers, and 10 assists for his career-high total in points. His 49 points and 33 goals are fourth in the league, while his six two-point scores are second. Tripucka also came on strong after joining the Hounds after his NCAA title run with the Blue Devils. The Mountain Lakes, N.J., native has 10 goals in his eight games. Cinosky, an assistant coach for Duke and Maryland product, has helped anchor the defense, picking up 16 ground balls and scoring a goal in his 12 outings.

Turri and Greer both have been steady forces for the Outlaws during their run. Turri has 15 points from nine goals and four assists in 14 games, while Greer has 28 points in his 11 outings. Greer owns two game winners and Turri, a 2010 NCAA Champion for the Blue Devils, has one.

The winner advances to the title game to take on the winner of the Toronto Nationals and Chesapeake Bayhawks game. The championship game is set for Aug. 25 at 3 p.m. on ESPN2.