Uploaded Ad
Cutcliffe Elected to AFCA Board of Trustees
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/14/2014
article image
Photo Courtesy: Duke Photography
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Duke head football coach David Cutcliffe has been elected to the Board of Trustees of the American Football Coaches Association, the organization announced on Tuesday at its annual convention in Indianapolis, Ind.

“I am deeply humbled to be asked to serve the AFCA in this capacity for a second time,” said Cutcliffe.  “The AFCA is one of the true pillars of this incredible game we call college football, and it will be an honor to help guide our peers into the future.  I look forward to the opportunity to work alongside Grant Teaff and the other members of this group to help give back to the sport which has obviously been such a significant part of my life.”

The Board formulates policy and provides direction for the AFCA, which was founded in 1922 by Amos Alonzo Stagg, John Heisman and others. The AFCA has more than 11,000 members from all levels of the profession.

Cutcliffe is joined by Liberty head coach Turner Gill and Southern Illinois head coach Dale Lennon as the board’s newest members.  The trio was elected by members attending the national convention.  Gill and Lennon will be the Football Championship Subdivision representatives on the Board, while Cutcliffe will be the Football Bowl Subdivision AFCA District 2 representative.

Returning members of the AFCA Board of Trustees include incoming president Mike Welch of Ithaca College; first vice-president Tommy Tuberville of the University of Cincinnati; second vice-president Todd Berry of the University of Louisiana-Monroe and third vice-president Lee Owens of Ashland University.

Also serving on the Board in 2013: Bill Cronin, Georgetown College (Ky.); Frank Solich, Ohio University; Mike Riley, Oregon State University; Gary Patterson, TCU; David Bailiff, Rice University; Mark Richt, University of Georgia; Pete Fredenburg, University of Mary Hardin-Baylor; Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern University; Craig Bohl, North Dakota State University; Bobby Kennedy, University of Iowa, ex officio member and chairman of the Assistant Coaches Committee; Dino Babers, Bowling Green State University, ex officio member and chairman of the Minority Issues Committee and Sam Knopik, The Pembroke Hill School (Mo.), ex officio member and chairman of the High School Committee.  AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff serves as secretary-treasurer of the organization.