Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Freshman Jabari Parker
Parker Named USBWA First Team All-America
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/12/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke’s Jabari Parker continued his awards haul Wednesday when he was named USBWA First Team All-America. Parker, the 42nd Duke player to earn All-America honors and the 28th under head coach Mike Krzyzewski, is the second Duke freshman to appear on an All-America squad and was the only freshman on the USBWA first team.

Coming off of an historic performance in a 93-81 win over North Carolina Saturday in which he totaled 30 points and 11 rebounds, Parker leads Duke with 19.2 points, 9.0 rebounds and 1.4 blocks per game to go with an ACC-leading 14 double-doubles. Parker, the 2014 ACC Freshman of the Year, has scored in double figures in 15 straight games and has recorded six straight double-doubles entering the ACC Tournament.

Parker, the eighth freshman in league history to earn first team All-ACC honors, is attempting to become just the fourth freshman in ACC history to lead the conference in rebounding, while his 19.2 points per game scoring average is currently the fourth-highest by an ACC freshman. He is just five points shy of becoming the sixth freshman in league history to score at least 600 points in a rookie campaign and is also on pace to be the 12th freshman in the ACC to lead his team in scoring and rebounding.

Behind Parker, the seventh-ranked and third-seeded Blue Devils enter the conference tournament 24-7 overall and 13-5 in the ACC. The Blue Devils open tournament play at the Greensboro Coliseum this Friday, March 14 at 9 p.m. against one of sixth-seeded Clemson, 11th-seeded Georgia Tech or 14th-seeded Boston College.

The U.S. Basketball Writers Association was formed in 1956 at the urging of then-NCAA Executive Director Walter Byers. Today, it is one of the most influential organizations in college basketball. It has selected an All-America team since the 1956-57 season.

Each of the 10 All-America selections is among the Oscar Robertson Trophy finalists. The USBWA's National Player of the Year Award will be announced on Friday, April 4, in Arlington, Texas, in conjunction with the NCAA Final Four. The Oscar Robertson Player of the Year Trophy will be formally presented on Monday, April 14, at the Devon Energy College Basketball Awards Gala in Oklahoma City.

USBWA All-America Team

First Team
Nick Johnson, Arizona
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Shabazz Napier, Connecticut
Jabari Parker, Duke
Russ Smith, Louisville
Second Team
Cleanthony Early, Wichita State
Melvin Ejim, Iowa State
C. J. Fair, Syracuse
Sean Kilpatrick, Cincinnati
Andrew Wiggins, Kansas