Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
Blue Devils to Compete at National Championships
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 06/04/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Ten Blue Devils have been selected to participate in the 2014 USA Field Hockey Women’s National Championship and the Under 21 Championship later this month at Spooky Nook Sports in Lancaster, Pa.

The Women’s National Championship, slated for June 16-21 at Spooky Nook Sports, is an annual tournament that features top collegiate players, current U.S. national team members and members of the 2012 U.S. Olympic women’s field hockey team. The championship serves as the selection trials for the U.S. women’s national squad.

Duke’s selections for the Women’s National Championship, chosen from their respective USA High Performance regional areas, include rising redshirt junior goalkeeper Lauren Blazing, incoming freshman midfielder Alyssa Chillano, rising junior midfielder Aileen Johnson, rising junior defender Amanda Kim and rising sophomore forward Heather Morris.

The Blue Devil program will also have five representatives at the Under 21 Championship June 22-25 in Lancaster. The tournament will feature 72 of the top U21 athletes in the country vying for spots at the 2014 Junior National Camp. Athletes selected to participate in the camp will be in contention for selection to one of the 2014-2015 Junior National Teams.

Rising junior defender Hannah Barreca, rising sophomore forward/midfielder Robin Blazing, rising sophomore midfielder Hunter Bracale, incoming midfielder/defender Sarah Furey and incoming freshman defender Alexa Mackintire are among the athletes who will compete at the Under 21 Championship.

Current Duke head coach Pam Bustin and associate head coach Jarred Martin will both coach at the Women’s National Championship, while Martin will also take part in the Under 21 Championship.

Check back to for updates throughout both tournaments.

Women's National Championship Selections

Lauren Blazing rJr GK
Alyssa Chillano Fr M
Aileen Johnson Jr M
Amanda Kim Jr D
Heather Morris So F

Under 21 Championship Selections

Hannah Barreca Jr D
Robin Blazing So F/M
Hunter Bracale So M
Sarah Furey Fr M/D
Alexa Mackintire Fr D