Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Jason Roberts
Will Monday
Monday Named to Ray Guy Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/09/2014
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt junior Will Monday was named as one of 25 candidates on the watch list for the Ray Guy Award, which goes to the top punter in college football.

A 6-4, 210-pound native of Flowery Branch, Ga., Monday has held Duke’s punting duties since 2012 when he was a Freshman All-America selection. Monday is a two-time All-ACC selection, including second team honors in 2013 after averaging 42.7 yards per punt with 14 boots of 50 yards or more and 21 downed inside the opponent 20-yard line.

Monday, who was also an All-ACC first team pick as a redshirt freshman in 2012, ranks ninth on the ACC’s all-time punting list with an average of 43.65 yards per punt. He is the ACC’s active leader in that category and is on pace to set Duke’s all-time record in punting average.

The Augusta Sports Council presents the Ray Guy Award, given to the collegiate punter of the year at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN in Orlando, Fla.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Ga., native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors, and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success. Learn more about the Ray Guy Award at

Monday is one of 43 letterwinners returning to Duke in 2014 after helping the program to a 10-4 record, the ACC Coastal Division crown and a berth in the Chick-fil-A Bowl on New Year’s Eve.

Duke opens the season on August 30 against Elon at Wallace Wade Stadium. Tickets are available at or by calling (919) 681-BLUE.

2014 Ray Guy Award Watch List
• Zach Paul (Jr.), Akron
• Sam Irwin-Hill (Sr.), Arkansas
• Spencer Roth (Sr.), Baylor
• Cole Leininger (Jr.), California
Will Monday (Jr.), Duke
• Sean Kelley (Jr.), Florida Atlantic
• Garrett Swanson (Jr.), Fresno State
• Austin Rehkow (So.), Idaho
• Trevor Pardula (Sr.), Kansas
• Anthony Melchiori (Jr.), Kent State
• Justin Manton (Sr.), LA.-Monroe
• Tyler Williams (Jr.), Marshall
• Mike Sadler (Sr.), Michigan State
• Peter Mortell (Jr.), Minnesota
• Thomas Hibbard (Sr.), North Carolina
• Wil Baumann (Sr.), North Carolina State
• Cameron Johnston (So.), Ohio State
• James Farrimond (Jr.), Rice
• Riley Dixon (Jr.), Syracuse
• Drew Kaser (Jr.), Texas A&M
• Hunter Mullins (Sr.), UAB
• Tom Hackett (Jr.), Utah
• Taylor Hudson (Sr.), Vanderbilt
• A.J. Hughes (Jr.), Virginia Tech
• Nick O’Toole (Jr.), West Virginia