Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Reagan Lunn
Jeremy Cash
Cash One of Four Lott IMPACT Trophy Finalists
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 12/02/2015
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

NEWPORT BEACH, Calif. – The honors continue to pile up for redshirt senior safety Jeremy Cash, who was named one of four finalists for the Lott IMPACT Trophy, according to an announcement by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation. Cash is the second Duke student-athlete to be named a finalist for the award as David Helton was one last December.

The three other finalists are Temple’s Tyler Matakevich, Penn State’s Carl Nassib and Ohio State’s Joshua Perry. Each student-athlete represents the qualities embodied by the award: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Earlier this week, Cash was named to the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association All-ACC first team. The Miami, Fla., product is owns a 3.80 grade point average in graduate school as a liberal studies major. He is a finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award (nation’s best defensive back), Bronko Nagurski Award (national defensive player of the year) and Senior CLASS Award. Cash was a consensus 2015 Midseason All-America pick and the national player of the week by five outlets following Duke’s 34-20 victory against No. 20 Georgia Tech.

Through 12 games this season, Cash has amassed 101 tackles, 18.0 tackles for loss, 2.5 sacks, eight quarterback pressures, four pass breakups, three caused fumbles and one fumble recovery on the season.  He has now reached the 100-tackle plateau in three consecutive seasons and is Duke’s career leader in caused fumbles with nine.

The winner of the 2015 Lott IMPACT Trophy will be announced at The Lott IMPACT Trophy Award Banquet, held at the Pacific Club in Newport Beach on December 13. The award show will be televised live on Fox Sports at 10 PM ET, and will be hosted by Fox Sports’ Joel Klatt and Jenny Taft. Martin Dugard, the co-author with Bill O’Reilly of the series of No. 1 best-selling “Killing” books on Lincoln, Kennedy, Jesus, Patton and Reagan will be featured as the keynote speaker.

The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation will make a $25,000 donation to the general scholarship fund of the winner’s university and $5,000 to each of the schools of the runner-ups. In 10 years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has now donated more than $1.1 million, including more than $500,000 to universities throughout the country.

 The 2015 Lott IMPACT Trophy Finalists:
Jeremy Cash, S, Duke
Tyler Matakevich, LB, Temple
Carl Nassib, DE, Penn State
Joshua Perry, LB, Ohio State

Previous Winners of the Lott IMPACT Trophy:
2004 – David Pollack, Georgia
2005 – DeMeco Ryans, Alabama
2006 – Dante Hughes, Cal
2007 – Glenn Dorsey, LSU
2008 – James Laurinaitis, Ohio State
2009 – Jerry Hughes, TCU
2010 – J.J. Watt, Wisconsin
2011 – Luke Kuechly, Boston College
2012 – Manti Te’o, Notre Dame
2013 – Anthony Barr, UCLA
2014 – Eric Kendricks, UCLA