Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Photography
USBWA Announces Midseason Watch Lists
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/25/2016
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

ST. LOUIS -- The United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) announced its midseason watch lists for both the 2016 Oscar Robertson Trophy and the 2016 Wayman Tisdale Award Monday afternoon, with Duke sophomore Grayson Allen earning a spot on the Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List and freshman Brandon Ingram appearing on the Wayman Tisdale Award Midseason Watch List. The Oscar Robertson Trophy has been awarded to the national player of the year since the 1958-59 season, while the Wayman Tisdale Award, first presented during the 1988-89 season, recognizes the national freshman of the year.

In addition to Allen, the ACC is also represented by Notre Dame’s Demetrius Jackson, North Carolina’s Brice Johnson and Miami’s Sheldon McClellan on the Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List. On the Wayman Tisdale Award Watch List, Ingram is joined by Florida State’s Dwayne Bacon and Malik Beasley in representing the ACC.

Now in his sophomore season, Allen has seen a significant jump in his contributions to the team, scoring 16.1 ppg. more than he did in his freshman campaign, the largest scoring improvement in ACC history. In addition to ranking second in the conference in points per game (20.5), Allen also ranks fifth in the conference in free throw percentage (.849) and ninth in assist-to-turnover ratio (2.14:1). Allen has posted nine games with 20-or-more points and three games with 30-or-more points, with the Blue Devils owning a 15-3 record when Allen scores double-digit points this year.

Ingram has become a crucial component of the Blue Devil starting lineup this season, ranking first in three-point field goal percentage (.419) and steals per game (1.4) and second on the team in points per game (17.1) and blocks per game (1.6). Ingram also sits among the top three freshmen in the conference in numerous categories, including points per game (17.1 - 2nd), rebounds per game (6.2 - 2nd), steals per game (1.4 - 2nd), three-point field goal percentage (.419 - 1st) and blocks per game (1.6 - 2nd). Ingram became just the ninth freshman in program history to register eight 20-point games, and is one of just six players in the ACC this season to post two-or-more 20/10 games.

The USBWA will honor the recipient of the Wayman Tisdale Award and the Oscar Robertson Trophy in Oklahoma City April 11 at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum.


2016 Wayman Tisdale Award Midseason Watch List
Grayson Allen, Duke
Kris Dunn, Providence
Kahlil Felder, Oakland
Yogi Ferrell, Indiana
Buddy Heidl, Oklahoma
Demetrius Jackson, Notre Dame
Brice Johnson, North Carolina
Jalen Jones, Texas A&M
Sheldon McClellan, Miami
Monte Morris, Iowa State
Georges Niang, Iowa State
Gary Payton II, Oregon State
Wayne Selden Jr., Kansas
Ben Simmons, LSU
Melo Trimble, Maryland
Tyler Ulis, Kentucky
Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa
Denzel Valentine, Michigan State
Fred VanVleet, Wichita State
Kyle Wiltjer, Gonzaga

2016 Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason Watch List
Brandon Ingram, Duke
KeVaughn Allen, Florida
Dwayne Bacon, Florida State
Malike Beasley, Florida State
Henry Ellnson, Marquette
Jamal Murray, Kentucky
Ivan Rabb, California
Ben Simmons, LSU
Diamond Stone, Maryland
Caleb Swanigan, Purdue