Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Spurrier Receives College Football Hall of Fame Bid
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 01/09/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links
DURHAM, N.C. – Former Duke head coach Steve Spurrier is one of 13 individuals in the College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2017, announced on Monday by The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame.

Spurrier served as the head coach of the Blue Devils from 1987-89 and compiled an overall ledger of 20-13-1.  The ACC Coach of the Year selection in both 1988 and 1989, he guided Duke to the ACC Championship and All American Bowl appearance in 1989.

The Heisman Trophy recipient in 1966 as a quarterback at Florida, Spurrier went on to serve as the head coach at his alma mater (1990-01) and South Carolina (2005-15) and finished with an overall collegiate coaching ledger of 228-89-2 with seven conference championships, 21 bowl game berths and the 1996 national crown.  Spurrier is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame as a player.

Spurrier becomes the fourth Duke head coach to be enshrined into the College Football Hall of Fame, joining Howard Jones (inducted in 1951), Wallace Wade (1955) and Bill Murray (1974).  In addition, former Duke head coach Mike McGee was inducted into the Hall of Fame as a player in 1990 and is joined by eight other Blue Devils including Fred Crawford (1973), Al DeRogatis (1986), Dan Hill (1962), Clarkston Hines (2010), Steve Lach (1980), George McAfee (1961), Ace Parker (1955) and Eric Tipton (1965). 

The new tradition of announcing the College Football Hall of Fame class in conjunction with the CFP National Championship began in 2015 before the inaugural CFP title game in Dallas.  The 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be inducted at the 60th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on December 5, 2017, at the New York Hilton Midtown.  The inductees will also be honored at the National Hall of Fame Salute at the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl on January 1, 2018, and they will be recognized at their respective collegiate institutions with NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the fall.

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2017 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Ole Miss. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments.”

Other members of the class include former players Bob Brable (Notre Dame, LB, 1978-81), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State, RB, 1991-93), Kirk Gibson (Michigan State, WR, 1975-78), Matt Leinart (Southern California, QB, 2003-05), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, QB, 1994-97), Bob McKay (Texas, OT, 1968-69), Dat Nguyen (Texas A&M, LB, 1995-98), Adrian Peterson (Georgia Southern, RB, 1998-01), Mike Ruth (Boston College, NG, 1982-85) and Brian Urlacher (New Mexico, DB, 1996-99).   In addition, Spurrier is joined by two former head coaches – Danny Ford (Clemson & Arkansas) and Larry Kehres (Mount Union [Ohio]) – in the group.
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Oct 16 at 11:55 AM
Duke Football Vs Virginia
Sat, Oct 20 at 11:00 AM
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Oct 23 at 11:55 AM
Duke Football At Pittsburgh
Sat, Oct 27 at 11:00 AM