Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Andy Mead
Blue Devil Men Produce Undefeated Record at Home
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/11/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The ninth-ranked Duke men’s fencing team produced a stellar undefeated performance for the second weekend in a row on their home strips on Saturday, keeping all three trophies in Durham. The Blue Devil men now own a season record of 16-5 (3-0 ACC) after their 5-0 showing.

On the day, the Duke men logged victories against MIT (19-8), Air Force (21-6), Johns Hopkins (21-6) and ACC foes Boston College (18-9) and North Carolina (21-7). The victory over the Tar Heels marks the 23rd year in a row in which Duke has defeated North Carolina.

Pacing the Blue Devils Saturday was freshman Jonathan Schwartzman, finishing the competition with a perfect 11-0 individual record. Schwartzman helped guide the foil squad to a 5-0 finish.

Former ACC Male Fencer of the Week, rookie Duncan De Caire logged the best performance for the saberists with a 10-5 ledger. De Caire now owns a season record of 42-16 after four meets. Also notching 10 victories was epeeist Bryn Hammarberg.

Alongside De Caire on the strips was saberist Peter Yang, who turned in a solid 9-3 performance.

Junior Pascual Di Tella went undefeated during his bouts as he logged an 8-0 ledger while Agoston Walter also turned in eight wins. Additionally, epeeist Dakota Nollner and foilist Will Feldman added eight victories.

Sunday’s portion of the Duke Meet will feature the women’s competition, scheduled to begin at 8 a.m. in Card Gymnasium.

A complete list of the Blue Devil men’s results can be found below:

Duke Men (5-0)
Duke 19, MIT 8
Duke 18, Boston College 9
Duke 19, North Carolina 8
Duke 21, Air Force 6
Duke 21, Johns Hopkins 6

Duke Saber (5-0)
Duncan De Caire (10-5)
Peter Yang (9-3)
Pascual Di Tella (8-0)
Agoston Walter (8-2)

Duke Epee (4-1)
Bryn Hammarberg (10-4)
Dakota Nollner (8-7)
Connor Ghazaleh (4-1)
Aidan McGinnis (4-5)
Alec Ajnsztajn (0-2)

Duke Foil (5-0)
Jonathan Schwartzman (11-0)
Will Feldman (8-3)
Jan Maceczek (7-2)
Eoin Gronningsater (5-1)
Joseph Lam (3-0)
Ethan Yu (3-2)