Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Madison Heath
Heath Captures Gold in Women's Pole Vault
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/24/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Duke track & field program secured its first ACC title of the weekend at the 2017 ACC Indoor Track & Field Championships as junior Madison Heath captured gold in the women’s pole vault.

With seven events scored in the women’s competition, the Blue Devils are fourth with 27.5 points. On the men’s side, Duke is ninth with 13 points after six events.

After sitting atop the ACC leaderboard throughout the indoor season, Heath, ranked ninth nationally, notched 13-11.25 (4.25) to secure first, bringing gold and All-ACC honors back to Durham. Heath’s performance, following back-to-back gold medals by former Blue Devil All-American Megan Clark, gives Duke three consecutive ACC women’s titles in the event.

“I was definitely nervous coming into today but excited at the same time,” said Heath. “We’ve all worked very hard to get here this year. I’m really happy with my performance and very excited to have won this event. I’m also really happy with how my team performed and it was great to be able to watch everyone. I definitely feel more confident in the way I’ve been vaulting this season and I know what I need to work on and what needs to be fine-tuned going into outdoor competition.”

Sophomore Sydnei Murphy continued her impressive indoor season today in the long jump. Murphy took second in 20-7.00 (6.27), claiming first-team All-ACC accolades in the process. Murphy’s jump also puts her at No. 2 on Duke’s all-time list.

Graduate student Daniel Golubovic and senior Chaz Hawkins garnered second-team All-ACC honors today as they finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the heptathlon.

Golubovic tallied a personal-best 5,348 points after his fourth-place finish in a personal-best time of 8.42 in the 60m hurdles. Golubovic also notched second in the pole vault, clearing 15-9.00 (4.80) and clocked a personal-best 2:52.16 in the 1,000m.

Like Golubovic, Hawkins recorded personal-bests in the 60m hurdles (8.94) and in the 1,000m (2:47.14). Hawkins also added a season-best 14-1.25 (4.30) clearance in the pole vault to secure his best point total of 5,232.

Junior Maddy Price secured second in her heat of the 400m in a time of 54.05 to place her seventh overall, the second-fastest in Duke history. Senior Madeline Kopp garnered fourth in the 800m after stopping the clock at 2:06.82, the fifth-fastest time in school history. Both Price and Kopp will compete tomorrow in their respective finals.

Freshman Matt Wisner has had a dominant indoor campaign and set the school record in the 800m tonight in 1:50.10, the fastest non-qualifying time in ACC history.

The Blue Devils had a number of strong performances with student-athletes registering personal-bests and etching their names on Duke’s all-time list.

The men’s high jump saw success today from sophomore Rivers Ridout and junior Colt Sessions. Ridout notched the third-best mark in Duke history after placing seventh in 6-11.50 (2.12). Sessions followed close behind in eighth with a height of 6-9.75 (2.08), which ties his personal-best.

Brett Bofinger notched the second-fastest time in Blue Devil history in the 400m in 47.94.

Junior Tionne Barmer tallied to personal-bests marks today in Indiana in the 60m and in the 200m. Barmer clocked in at 7.05 in the 60m and in 22.47 in the 200m.

The women’s mile and men’s and women’s 800m saw multiple personal-best and season-best times today for Liz Lansing, Kim Hallowes, Brittany Aveni and Dylan Murphy.

Lansing went all out in the women’s mile to register 4:49.68, eight seconds faster than her previous best time.

In the 800m, Hallowes and Aveni each exceeded their personal-best times as they clocked in at 22:09.86 and 2:11.17, respectively. On the men’s side, Murphy ran a season-best 1:52.20.

The Blue Devils will close out competition at the ACC Indoor Track & Field Championship tomorrow morning at 11 a.m. with ESPN3 coverage beginning at 12 p.m.