stop
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
DWS Freshman Spotlight: Remi Swartz
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/04/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C.— Duke women's soccer program will welcome another standout recruiting class to the mix in 2017 as head coach Robbie Church and his staff landed the No. 5 overall class.  During the spring and summer, GoDuke.com will spotlight each of the eight newcomers.

The fourth rookie that will be spotlighted is Remi Swartz, who is a 5-9 defender from Sanford, N.C.  The Cary Academy product tallied 14 goals and 13 assists in 13 matches as a senior.  She finished her high school career with a school-record 43 assists.  Swartz was named the TISAC Conference Player of the Year, TISAC All-Conference, NCISAA All-State and NCSCA All-Region in her final season.

Get to Know Swartz --

What do you enjoy most about playing soccer?
A variety of things...I've had the opportunity to meet some amazing people, been fortunate to travel to great places and of course, the thrill of winning.

What age did you start playing soccer?
I started playing soccer when I was four years old.  

What are some of the strengths of your soccer game?
I would consider my 1-v-1 defending, the ability to attack on the flank and speed with/without the ball some of my strengths.

When/why did you decide soccer was going to be your sport you concentrated on?
When I switched clubs and started playing at CASL, the competitive environment was so much different than what I was used to and I fed off of it.
 
What are you most looking forward to when you arrive on campus at Duke?
I am looking forward to becoming part of the DWS family, meeting new people and pursuing the academic opportunities offered.
 
Who has had the greatest influence on your game?
I've been very blessed to have played for an organization (CASL) that had an excellent coaching staff. A special thanks goes out to, Sean and Damon Nahas, Kacey White, Sam Stockley and Next Level Academy for my development over the years. Also, I wouldn't be where I am today without the love, support and constant competitive environment from my teammates.

What are you doing this summer?
I've been working out with my trainer, doing a college prep program through the NC Courage and spending time with friends and family.
 
What do most people don’t know about you?
Even though I took eight years of ballet, I still can't touch my toes.

Quick Hitters:
 
Favorite Athlete: I don't think I can narrow down to just one...Lebron James, Serena Williams, Tom Brady and Dani Alves
Biggest Thrill in Sports: When your dedication and determination inspires others. And of course...winning.
Goals Upon Graduation: Hopefully will have won a National Championship, possibly playing professionally either in the U.S. or overseas and then pursing an advanced degree.
Hobbies: Skiing, traveling, working out, spending time with friends, watching Netflix and enjoying good food.
Other sports you played growing up: Tennis, horseback riding and golf
Favorite soccer player to watch: Positionally, Dani Alves but of course Lionel Messi
Favorite club: FC Barcelona
Favorite dessert: Brownies
Favorite type of music: Hip-Hop/Rap

DUKE NEWS ARCHIVES
DUKE VIDEOS
BDN+ LIVE EVENTS SCHEDULE
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Sep 26 at 12:25 PM
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Oct 3 at 12:25 PM
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Oct 10 at 12:25 PM
Coach Cutcliffe Weekly Press
Tue, Oct 17 at 12:25 PM
PHOTO GALLERIES MORE ALBUMS
WOMEN'S SOCCER HEADLINES