Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Daniel Jones
Jones Named to Maxwell Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/10/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke redshirt sophomore quarterback Daniel Jones has been selected to the preseason watch list for the Maxwell Award, an honor presented to the top player in the country by the Maxwell Football Club.

During the 2016 season, Jones’ first as a starter, he completed 270-of-430 (.638) passes for 2,836 yards with 16 touchdowns and nine interceptions. He also rushed 141 times for 486 yards (3.45) and seven scores en route to amassing 3,322 total offensive yards, the most by a Duke rookie in program history.

Jones, a 6-5, 215-pound native of Charlotte, N.C., is one of two returning quarterbacks in the ACC to have produced 2,500 or more passing yards, 15 or more passing TDs, 450 or more rushing yards and five or more rushing TDs a season ago, joining Louisville’s Lamar Jackson, recipient of the 2016 Heisman Trophy.

At the end of the 2016 season, Jones was an Honorable mention Freshman All-America pick by Campus Insiders as well as the recipient of the program’s Carmen Falcone Award as Duke’s Most Valuable Player. During the campaign, Jones was the ACC Rookie of the Week choice following performances against Notre Dame, Georgia Tech, North Carolina and Miami. The four weekly citations matched the highest total in the league alongside Florida State QB Deondre Francois. Jones was also tabbed a Manning Award Star of the Week recipient after victories over Notre Dame and North Carolina and a Davey O’Brien Award Great Eight weekly honoree following the win at Notre Dame. Jones finished as the runner-up in the balloting behind recipient Francois for both ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year and ACC Rookie of the Year by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association and came in third in the balloting for both ACC Offensive Rookie of the Year and ACC Rookie of the Year by the league’s head coaches.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell's contributions to the game of football were extensive, including time as a player, a sportswriter and an official. Previous winners of the Maxwell Award include A.J. McCarron (Alabama), Manti Te’o (Notre Dame), Andrew Luck (Stanford), Cam Newton (Auburn), Tim Tebow (Florida), Eli Manning (Ole Miss), Peyton Manning (Tennessee) and Barry Sanders (Oklahoma State).

Duke season tickets are available online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.

Duke Players on 2017 NCFAA Watch Lists
Bednarik Award: Ben Humphreys
Maxwell Award: Daniel Jones


Baseball vs. Boston College Audio
Fri, Apr 26 at 5:40 PM
Baseball vs. Boston College Audio
Sat, Apr 27 at 1:40 PM
Baseball vs. Boston College Audio
Sun, Apr 28 at 12:40 PM
Duke Baseball Show | Season 6
Mon, Apr 29 at 11:55 AM