Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Shaun Wilson
Wilson Named to Hornung Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/17/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke senior running back/kickoff returner Shaun Wilson was named to the watch list for the Paul Hornung Award presented by Texas Roadhouse, an honor presented to the most versatile player in the nation by The Louisville Sports Commission. It is the first year Wilson has been on the list.

Wilson, a 5-9, 185-pound native of Charlotte, N.C., was a preseason All-ACC selection by Phil Steele’s College Football Preview (2nd team return specialist) and Athlon Sports (3rd team return specialist & 4th team RB). At the conclusion of spring practice, Wilson received co-Most Improved Offensive Player honors along with wide receiver Aaron Young.

In 36 games (10 starts), Wilson has rushed 313 times for 1,645 yards (5.26) and 12 touchdowns, caught 45 passes for 462 yards (10.11) and two touchdowns and returned 41 kickoffs for 1,088 yards (26.54) and two scores. In testament to his versatility, Wilson is the only active player nationally to register touchdowns covering 80 or more yards via rush, reception and return.

In his career, Wilson has four scoring plays of 85 or more yards (89-yard reception vs. N.C. Central in 2015; 85-yard rush vs. Indiana in 2015; 98-yard KOR return vs. Indiana in 2015; 96-yard KOR vs. Notre Dame in 2016) and has four scoring plays from scrimmage of 65 or more yards (69-yard rush vs. Kansas in 2014; 68-yard rush vs. Kansas in 2014; 89-yard reception vs. N.C. Central in 2015; 85-yard rush vs. Indiana in 2015).

Last fall, Wilson rushed 151 times for 623 yards (4.13) and four touchdowns, caught eight passes for 76 yards (9.50) and returned 37 kickoffs for 924 yards (24.97) and one score. In the ACC, he ranked third in all-purpose yards per game (135.00), fourth in kickoff return average, 13th in rushing yards per game (51.92) and 14th in rushing yards per attempt

The Paul Hornung Award, now in its eighth season, is given annually to the most versatile player in major college football by the Louisville Sports Commission, and football legend and Louisville native Paul Hornung. The winner and his family will be honored at the annual Paul Hornung Award Banquet presented by KentuckyOne Health, to be held at the Galt House Hotel in downtown Louisville on March 8, 2018. This will be The Paul Hornung Award's second year as an associate member of the prestigious National College Football Awards Association.

The 2017 Watch List is comprised of one graduate student, 23 seniors, 19 juniors, and three sophomores who play a total of nine different positions. They represent 45 universities in 28 states coast-to-coast across the 10 conferences that are part of the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). The ACC leads the conferences with 10 players, followed by the SEC with eight players, and the Big Ten with five players.

Duke season tickets are available online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.

Duke Players on 2017 NCFAA Watch Lists
Bednarik Award: Ben Humphreys
Maxwell Award: Daniel Jones
Mackey Award: Daniel Helm
Rimington Trophy: Austin Davis
Outland Trophy: Austin Davis and Evan Lisle
Paul Hornung Award: Shaun Wilson