Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: ACC Photography
Duke Men Capture First ACC Title in Program History
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 02/24/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. – The Duke men’s fencing team made history today in Chapel Hill at the 2018 ACC Fencing Championships, capturing its first ACC title in program history.

The Blue Devil men cruised to a 19-8 victory over the second-ranked team in the country, Notre Dame, and also defeated North Carolina (19-8) and Boston College (24-3) in route to the crown.

Duke used an 8-1 advantage in epee and a 7-2 record in foil to hand defending national champion Notre Dame its first fencing loss in an ACC Championship since joining the conference in the 2014-15 season.

“As you know, last year was very close but we didn’t get it,” head coach Alex Beguinet said. “We were so ready this year … so ready. Everyone was wanting this so much. All year, the focus was on winning the ACC title.”

The men were highlighted by sophomore foilist Jonathan Schwartzman’s perfect 8-0 showing to lead the foil squad to an undefeated afternoon on the strips. Junior All-American Bryn Hammarberg spearheaded the epeeists with an 8-1 overall record followed by Dean Ischiropoulos (7-2). Sophomore Agoston Walter went 7-1 on the day to lead the saberists.

“The will of our student-athletes was the key,” Beguinet said. “Getting them to believe that ‘yes you can do it.’ And they did. This was wonderful.”

Also competing today was the Blue Devil women in the individual portion of the event.

Senior Haley Fisher and junior Claudia Wrampelmeier came up just short of earning a spot on the podium in saber and epee, respectively.

Fisher posted a 10-4 overall ledger to get to the semifinal bouts. Fisher lost to No. 2 Tara Hassett of Notre Dame in the semis and then was unable to finish in the battle for third.

Wrampelmeier went 11-4 in pool play and lost to eventual ACC Champion Amanda Sirico of Notre Dame in the semifinals.

Sunday will feature the reverse of Saturday’s schedule. The meet will continue with the men’s individual tournament at 7 a.m., followed by the women’s team championship at 12:30 p.m. ACC Network Extra will again broadcast the meet beginning with the individual championship bouts.

A complete look at Duke’s results from today’s competition can be found below:

Women’s Epee
4. Claudia Wrampelmeier
7. Camille Esnault
10. Maria Papadopoulos
12. Kendyl Bree

Women’s Saber
4. Haley Fisher
6. Jennifer Ling
8. Lindsay Sapienza
13. Gabrielle Zegers

Women’s Foil
5. Rhiannon Harvey
6. Julia Gianneschi
10. Kristen Coury

Men’s Team (3-0)
No. 9 Duke 19, No. 2 Notre Dame 8
No. 9 Duke 19, North Carolina 8
No. 9 Duke 24, Boston College 3

Men’s Saber (2-1)
Agoston Walter, 7-1
Pascual Di Tella, 4-2
Duncan De Caire, 3-5
Ping Ping Kitsiriboon
, 2-3

Men’s Foil (3-0)
Jonathan Schwartzman, 8-0
Eoin Gronningsater, 6-1
Brycen Rushing, 5-0
Jan Maceczek, 5-2

Men’s Epee (3-0)
Bryn Hammarberg, 8-1
Dean Ischiropoulos, 7-2
Amit Sarma, 6-2
Alec Ajnsztajn, 0-1


Men's Tennis vs. Arizona State Live
Fri, Jan 18 at 5:30 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Arizona State Live
Fri, Jan 18 at 5:30 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Arizona State Live
Fri, Jan 18 at 5:30 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Arizona State Live
Fri, Jan 18 at 5:30 PM