Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Lexie Brown
Brown Earns espnW All-America Honor
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/12/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – As the Duke women’s basketball program gets set to learn its first opponent in the 2018 NCAA Tournament, Blue Devil fifth-year senior Lexie Brown has been named espnW Third Team All-America.

The honor for Brown marks the third straight collegiate season for the 5-9 guard that she has been selected All-America. She was an Associated Press Third Team selection as a sophomore at Maryland and junior at Duke.

On the season, Brown has averaged 20.1 points, 4.5 rebounds, 4.4 assists and 3.5 steals for the Blue Devils. She has turned in one of the best individual seasons in school history with 106 steals, which is tied for the second most in a single season for Duke. The 2018 ACC Defensive Player of the Year, Brown owns 16 games with 20 or more points and was selected All-ACC First Team for the second straight year.

Brown has also been named to the John R. Wooden Award final ballot, Naismith Player of the Year candidate, Wade Watch candidate, Senior CLASS Award finalist, Nancy Lieberman Award finalist and a top 15 finalist for the Dawn Staley Award among others.

Her 20.1 points per game ranks second in the ACC and 26th nationally, while her 3.5 steals leads the league and ranks seventh in the nation. She has a chance to become just the second player in ACC history to lead the league in both scoring and steals (Alana Beard).

Other members of the espnW All-America teams including Sabrina Ionescu (Oregon), Teaira McCowan (Mississippi State), Katie Lou Samuelson (UConn), Gabby Williams (UConn) and A’ja Wilson (South Carolina) on the first team.

The second team featured Napheesa Collier (UConn), Kalani Brown (Baylor), Asia Durr (Louisville), Kelsey Mitchell (Ohio State) and Arike Ogunbowale (Notre Dame). Along with Brown on the third team was Jordin Canada (UCLA), Marie Gulich (Oregon State), Megan Gustafson (Iowa) and Victoria Vivians (Mississippi State),

The NCAA Tournament selection show will take place Monday, March 12 at 7 p.m., live on ESPN.


Baseball vs. Campbell Audio Broadcast
Wed, Mar 20 at 3:40 PM
Baseball vs. Wake Forest Audio
Fri, Mar 22 at 3:40 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Miami Live Video
Fri, Mar 22 at 4:45 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Miami Live Video
Fri, Mar 22 at 4:45 PM