Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Chelsea Gray, Elizabeth Williams
Gray, Williams Added to USA National Team Pool
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 03/14/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – USA Basketball announced Wednesday that Duke alumnae Chelsea Gray and Elizabeth Williams have been added to the 2018 USA Basketball Women’s National Team pool, following the February training camp in which they attended.

Along with Gray and Williams, Allisha Gray, Tiffany Mitchell, Brittney Sykes and Sydney Wiese were added to the list to move the pool to 34 athletes.

USA Basketball also announced a trio of successful basketball head coaches – Dan Hughes (Seattle Storm), Cheryl Reeve (Minnesota Lynx) and Jennifer Rizzotti (George Washington) – have been selected to serve as assistant coaches for the 2018 USA Basketball Women’s National Team.

The next training camp will take place April 24-26 in Seattle and return in September. The 2018 USA World Cup Team is expected to be selected from the USA National Team pool, and the 2018 FIBA World Cup will be held Sept. 22-30 in Tenerife, Spain.

Gray, a 2014 Duke graduate, was a 2013 WBCA All-America and currently plays for the Los Angeles Sparks. The point guard earned 2017 All-WNBA Second Team honors and helped lead the Sparks to the 2016 WNBA Championship. A 2015 Blue Devil graduate, Williams is with the WNBA’s Atlanta Dream and was a four-time Associated Press All-America at Duke. Williams was the 2016 WNBA’s Most Improved Player.

Athletes previously named to the USA National Team pool include: Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx); Sue Bird (Seattle Storm); Tina Charles (New York Liberty); Layshia Clarendon (Atlanta Dream); Napheesa Collier (University of Connecticut); Elena Delle Donne (Washington Mystics); Skylar Diggins-Smith (Dallas Wings); Stefanie Dolson (Chicago Sky); Asia Durr (University of Louisville); Sylvia Fowles (Minnesota Lynx); Brittney Griner (Phoenix Mercury); Tiffany Hayes (Atlanta Dream); Jantel Lavender (Los Angeles Sparks); Jewell Loyd (Seattle Storm); Kayla McBride (Las Vegas Aces); Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream); Kelsey Mitchell (Ohio State University); Maya Moore (Minnesota Lynx); Chiney Ogwumike (Connecticut Sun); Nneka Ogwumike (Los Angeles Sparks); Kelsey Plum (Las Vegas Aces); Katie Lou Samuelson (University of Connecticut); Odyssey Sims (Los Angeles Sparks); Breanna Stewart (Seattle Storm); Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury); Morgan Tuck (Connecticut Sun); Courtney Williams (Connecticut Sun); and A’ja Wilson (University of South Carolina).