Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Photo: Jon Lopez / Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Hill, Driesell Inducted to Naismith Hall of Fame
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 09/08/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. -- A pair of former Duke basketball players, Grant Hill and Charles “Lefty” Driesell, were officially inducted to the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame in a ceremony Friday night in Springfield, Mass.

Hill and Driesell become the first two Blue Devils to be inducted individually, and joined Christian Laettner, who was inducted as part of the 1992 Team USA Dream Team. Duke head coach Mike Krzyzewski was inducted to the Naismith Hall of Fame in 2001.

“I came to you with a dream and you gave me the blue print," said Hill to Coach K, who attended the ceremony. "I learned how to lead, how to win, how to compete... but most importantly you taught me to believe in myself.”

Hill was a two-time All-American and won two national championships with the Blue Devils in 1991 and 1992. Duke’s 17th all-time leading scorer, Hill scored 1,924 points as a Blue Devil. He was the 1994 ACC Player of the Year, the 1993 NABC Defensive Player of the Year, and his No. 33 jersey was retired by Duke in 1994. Hill became the first player in ACC history to collect more than 1,900 points, 700 rebounds, 400 assists, 200 steals and 100 blocked shots. In the NBA, Hill shared Rookie of the Year honors with Jason Kidd (who was also inducted as part of this Naismith class) in the 1994-95 season. He made seven All-Star appearances in his 19-year NBA career and is a five-time All-NBA selection.

Driesell, who played at Duke from 1952-54, is 11th all-time among the winningest men's Division-I coaches in college basketball history. Driesell, 86, coached his squads to 13 NCAA tournaments, eight of them coming during his time at Maryland from 1969-86. He won the NIT with the Terrapins in 1972. Driesell also was the head coach at Davidson, James Madison and Georgia State.