Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
T.J. Rahming
Rahming Selected to Biletnikoff Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/19/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – Duke senior wide receiver T.J. Rahming has been named to the preseason Biletnikoff Award Watch List. The award is given annually to the nation’s outstanding college receiver by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation. The selection marks Rahming’s second career on a preseason watch list.

Rahming, a 5-10, 170-pound Powder Springs, Ga., product, has earned preseason fourth team All-ACC selections by Athlon Sports and Phil Steele’s College Football Preview. In 37 career games (30 starts), he has collected 178 pass receptions for 2,108 yards (11.84) and five touchdowns.

Among active players nationally, Rahming ranks second in pass re­ceptions behind only Fresno State’s Keesean Johnson (180) and third in receiving yardage trailing only Georgia State’s Penny Hart (2,281) and Johnson (2,123). Rahming is one of just seven players in Duke history to post three seasons with 40 or more receptions and 500 or more receiving yards, joining Wes Chesson (1968-69-70), Clarkston Hines (1987-88-89), Scottie Montgom­ery (1997-98-99), Donovan Varner (2009-10-11), Conner Vernon (2009-10-11-12) and Jamison Crowder (2012-13-14).

Last year, Rahming started all 13 games and received the program’s Clarkston Hines Award as the most outstanding receiver for the second consecutive season. Rahming finished 2017 with 65 receptions for 795 yards (12.23) and two touchdowns. Within the ACC, he ranked seventh in receiving yards per game (61.15) and ninth in receptions per game (5.00). Rahming ended his year with a 33-yard touchdown catch from quarterback Daniel Jones versus Northern Illinois in the Quick Lane Bowl. The TD grab marked the second-longest scoring reception in Duke postseason history, trailing only the 59-yard air strike from Anthony Boone to Crowder against Texas A&M in the 2013 Chick-fil-A Bowl.

The Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation, Inc., will announce the ten Biletnikoff Award semifinalists on November 12, following the vote by the distinguished members of the Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee. Likewise, the three finalists will be declared, following another vote, on November 20. For complete details and updates of interest, together with weekly statistics and timely, important news of the Biletnikoff Award candidates, as well as a fan vote and discussion board, please consult the Foundation's highly informative website at

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI. 

Duke season tickets are available online at or by calling the Duke Athletic Ticket Office at 919-681-2583.

Duke Players on 2018 NCFAA Watch Lists
Bednarik Award: Mark Gilbert & Joe Giles-Harris
Maxwell Award: Daniel Jones
Davey O’Brien Award: Daniel Jones
Doak Walker Award: Brittain Brown
Biletnikoff Award: T.J. Rahming 


Men's Basketball vs. North Carolina
Wed, Feb 20 at 8:00 PM
Baseball vs. Northwestern Audio
Fri, Feb 22 at 3:40 PM
Baseball vs. Northwestern Audio
Sat, Feb 23 at 12:40 PM
Men's Tennis vs. Coastal Carolina Live
Sat, Feb 23 at 12:45 PM