Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Four Blue Devils Named ITA Scholar-Athletes
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 07/24/2018
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Duke women’s tennis program was named a 2018 ITA All-Academic Team, as announced Tuesday by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA). Additionally, four Blue Devils also received recognition for individual academic accomplishments.

Samantha Harris, Kaitlyn McCarthy, Rebecca Smaller and Hannah Zhao received ITA Scholar-Athlete accolades as McCarthy’s and Smaller’s recognition marks the third consecutive year. Harris garnered the award for the second time while the 2018 campaign marks the first ITA Scholar-Athlete selection for Zhao.

The ITA All-Academic Team award is open to any ITA program that has a cumulative team grade point average of 3.20 or above (on a 4.00 scale). All varsity letter winners were factored into the cumulative team GPA for the current academic year (including fall 2017 and spring 2018).

In order to earn ITA Scholar-Athlete status a player must meet the following criteria: 1.) be a varsity letter winner, 2.) have a grade point average of at least 3.50 (on a 4.00 scale) for the current academic year, and 3.) have been enrolled at their present school for at least 2 semesters (including freshman through senior year).

Duke was joined by 11 other ACC schools on the list, including Boston College, Clemson, Florida State, Louisville, Miami, NC State, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Syracuse, Virginia and Wake Forest.

In all, 735 teams and 4,328 student-athletes across all five divisions of college tennis were honored.